Finally Back on the Bike

No sooner had I gotten home than it began to rain. It sounds like the kind of writing task we give students. I think I had better back up and explain.

Cycling season has started, and thanks to indoor training, it probably never stopped for anyone else. For me, a torn rotator cuff, several trips to Japan, a subscription to Zwift that seemed to crash every time I used it, and general laziness prevented me from doing any off season training. So here I am trying to play catchup with the first official club meet next week.

I thought I had put everything neatly away last year, but I ran around the house trying to get all my gear together. I had to put the wheel back on the bike (I did try to use the trainer) and had to deflate the tire I had blown up because I couldn’t get the bigger tires past the rim brakes. I had to lube up the chain. I had to put the saddlebag back below the saddle. Luckily for me, the lights were still charged up and that bit of confidence in my safety helped.

I have new shoes and a new helmet to sport this year. I haven’t gotten either one of them ready so I rushed out with my old ones–though I had to rummage a bit in the basement to find them. I also had on my worn out gloves because I didn’t want to spend any more time in the house. I knew rain was coming and I had this 80 or 90 minute route in mind and my window was closing. I hoped I could do it in less, but I had no idea what shape I was in.

Needless to say, it was great to finally be out on the bike. It was a great feeling, even when I had to slowly chug up some hills. I got the bike up to a decent speed once or twice and it felt pretty good.

I’ve got a few things that I need to take care of:

  • I’ve got to get a new set of cleats for my new shoes.
  • I’ve got to install those new cleats.
  • I’ve got to get my new helmet adjusted.
  • I should clean my sunglasses.
  • I should adjust my brakes.
  • I have to charge up my Garmin.
  • I have to download next week’s route in the new platform.
  • I had better do some cycling specific stretches.
  • I have to get my electrolytes for next week’s longer ride.
  • I have to open my box of cliff bars.

The ride itself was quite contemplative. As a result, I thought of a few more things I should explain about my last trip to Japan. If I decide to go that route, it will be part 4. I also came up with a whole other blogpost I would like to tackle.

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in bicycles, cycling, cycling gear, cycling shoes, exercise, fitness, group rides, Newmarket Eagles, strava and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Finally Back on the Bike

  1. Anonymous says:

    I was glad to hear your riding again but didn”t know about rotator cuffs runs in the family it seems love mom

  2. At a month since a fall – while walking with my luggage beside me of all things – and sustaining a concussion I am learning it is alright to not be prepared to be fully back in shape. I was already in fairly good form for my age – although losing a bit more weight & working on muscle tone would make it better – before I fell and am hoping I will be back to my daily walks soon. I have now definitely decided my bike riding days will remain in the past. Why court disaster?

Leave a comment