New Food: The Doner

IMG_20171020_145616152

I have had a chance to experience the food trend that has already swept Europe.  Will it sweep up Toronto too?

IMG_20171020_145624193

On a beautiful Friday, with temperatures way above seasonal, I ventured to Kensington Market to get a taste of a Doner. Kensington Market is a storied neighbourhood in Toronto with off-beat shops, artist charm and grime, storied locations (Twitch City anyone) more than a few marijuana dispensaries, and lots of food.

IMG_20171020_160922008

Toronto has lots of food.  We are fortunate enough to have access to a world menu; sometimes authentic, sometimes adapted to the Torontonian palate (I am talking to you Sushi Pizza).  If you want it you can come and get it.

My German and Swiss students have been talking about Doner for years.  I decided to Google it and found one in the city.  Luckily I was off early on Friday.  The weather was great and I decided to go and have one and a couple of beers.  Apparently the price in German is only a couple of Euro, but here it was around 10 dollars.

I think the pictures say it all. It was so delicious that I might have to will become a regular customer.

 

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in Aspirations, Reflections, Perfection, beer, delicious, Doner, eating, ethnic food, food, Kensington Market and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to New Food: The Doner

  1. Quinn says:

    How had you never had a doner!? Here doners are the food you end the night with at 3am after a drunken night out. They are perfect drunk person food. They make a mess and they act as perfect soakage.

    I think I’ve only ever had a sober doner one time and that was in Germany.

    • Anthony says:

      It was my first, but it will not be my last. My university drunk food was Sami souvlaki….did not taste the same sober.

    • Anthony says:

      Some further information for you. While Toronto is awash in food, regulations make parts of it tough sledding.
      We don’t have a lot of food trucks because it was hard to get a license, and while they are rolling out a new plan, it is still in its infancy–or it isn’t working.
      This means food places have to open up full on restaurants. In the case of the Doner place, I am sure the rent (as it is in most of the city) is quite high. Fortunately for them they have a liquor license.
      The Doner I had was about 10 dollars (with tax). According to my students it was on the small side.
      I found it messy fun to eat, but I can’t be sure if I could handle a large one.
      Maybe someday.

Leave a Reply

