Chocolate for the Teacher

IMG_20170808_123841416

I might not have liked many of my teachers growing up.  I might not have wanted to become a teacher.  In fact, I might have expended a lot of energy trying to avoid it entirely.  The truth is, I am a teacher.  It is probably part of some cosmic karma like revenge, but I choose not to dwell on it too much.  Instead, I would like to share a little list with you.  I call it The things that make a teacher smile–and in this case, though it might apply to other teachers, it is firmly set in the ESL world:

  • students with their homework done and needed very little in the way of correction
  • students correctly using something you have taught them recently
  • students finally using something correctly that they had been noticeably struggling with
  • students using idioms, phrasal verbs, or slang correctly.
  • students with gifts of chocolate for the teacher

The last one might seem a bit strange, but today, a student gave me some chocolate from Japan.  While it wasn’t a green tea kitkat, and it wasn’t my favourite, it was still pretty good and I enjoyed it at the break time.  Should I have considered it a bribe?  I suppose that is a fair question.  Should I consider this Today’s Perfect Moment?  Absolutely.

 

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in Aspirations, Reflections, Perfection, chocolate, ESL, gifts, Japan, Japanese, teaching and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Chocolate for the Teacher

  1. Angela says:

    Days that involve chocolate are always good days!!

  2. Anonymous says:

    Today, I bought it here in Toronto. Next time I’m going to show it off to you! INT36 Shin

  3. Anonymous says:

    It´s always a pleasure to try food from differents countries…especially chocolate!!
    Really interesting blog, teacher 😉
    Mercedes (INT36)

Leave a Reply

