…And Dreams Ensued

IMG_20170807_103254752

It is pretty early to declare Today’s Perfect Moment, but I had a moment early this morning which needs reflecting on.

Every morning, a little before six, my cat wakes me up and demands his breakfast. He can be quite insistent, going so far as to sniff my eyebrows and gently headbutt me.  While I can put him off for a while, he eventually becomes incredibly persistent and wary of any of my fakeout attempts.  I should explain that every morning includes holiday Mondays when I would rather be asleep.

This morning, after feeding him, I trudged back towards my bed, wondering if I would be able to get back asleep. Had this been a traditional Monday, I would have been up long before the cat and the prospect of work and commuting would have been looming.  Instead, I paused at the landing to peer out the window and listen.  Every surface in my line of sight had a sheen on it, reflecting the still on glow of street lights and the rising sun.  There was a gentle tap tap tap of raindrops on wood, asphalt, concrete, and steel.  Where it collided with the earth, there was barely a dull thud.

As I dropped onto my bed, memories of camping trips when rain bounced off the nylon tent came back to me. Memories of Japan’s rainy season tugged at my subconscious.  Memories of riding in the Epic Tour during an epic downpour brought a chuckle.  The memory of my friend Brian and I getting caught in a downpour with our valuable comic books suffering the brunt brought a moment of sadness.

With all of this, sleep soon came and dreams ensued.

 

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in Aspirations, Reflections, Perfection, commuting, dreams, holidays, Mondays, sleep and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to …And Dreams Ensued

  1. Beautifully written. I feel like I’m right there in the rain with you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

