Swiss Ink

IMG_20170801_113538637

I notice that I have spent quite a bit of time writing about my students’ tattoos.  I guess this is because I am fascinated by them.  What I mean is that I am fascinated by the multicultural collection of tattoos my students sport as well as the art of tattooing in general.  I hope you don’t mind.

Yes, tattoos are very popular.  No gender or age group seem to be immune from the charms of tattoos.  I understand, or at least I think I understand, the appeal of tattoos.  I certainly understand the desire to define yourself with a unique image.

Perhaps the problem I have is that I am more verbal that visual.  I don’t think I could create a cool visual image that would represent me.  I could write about it, but I don’t think I could realize the image on paper.  I guess, ideally, I would write about it and then an artist would draw it for me….

As for the tattoo pictured above, it came from a new student of mine.  She is from Switzerland and chose this image because it was “cool” and because owls are “cool”.  I can’t really disagree with her.

 

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in Aspirations, Reflections, Perfection, ESL, ink, students, tattoo and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Swiss Ink

  1. Sarah Warsi says:

    Pretty cool design! I’ve seen some very elaborate artwork on people as well. I have always contemplated getting a tattoo on my shoulder blade but I really wouldn’t know what to get! It would have to be very unique and really signify me. I am a little daunted by the permanency of it so I guess that’s why I’ve always shied away from it. I guess we’ll see one day. 🙂 My husband is a big tattoo buff and has quite a few – and like you said most people do to the point that you actually stand out when you don’t have any at all. lol

    • Anthony says:

      I am not really into permanence. I prefer mutability–my university English professors, especially the American Lit Prof (Roedekoppe was his name) spend hours lecturing on that.
      Maybe you will find something unique enough for you, maybe not. I recommend checking out the WP site OBT (one beautiful thing). Donna, writer of the site, has found some amazing tattoo artists. There work is definitely unique and very interesting.

Leave a Reply

