The Amazing Story of Ducks, Phone Calls, and Airplanes

I don’t know how much stock I put in destiny or fate, or whatever it is called. When one looks at a series of events that lead up to a big event, it seems so easy to dissect and give credit to the circumstances.  It may or not be the case.

Today’s Perfect Moment is the result of a slight change in my routine. Just as I was leaving work, I got a call from a friend whom I met in Japan probably 24 years ago.  We have only seen each other face to face a handful of time over those two dozen years, but have shared many phone calls and letters.  When he called, I had no trouble deciding to take the call rather than proceed to the subway.  Our conversation was about the Fourth of July (He lives in DC, so he got to partake in some great celebrations) and about some of the pictures from my Vietnam vacation.  He is a adventurous sort and I encouraged him to investigate the trip.

When our conversation was over, I had stayed a little later at work and ended up taking my bus slightly later than usual. While this meant that I wouldn’t see some of my bus crushes, I was quite happy for having talked to my friend.  When I boarded my bus, I opted for a different seat than usual.  Normally I sit with my back to the window in the only seat that faces this way.  I like this seat because it gives me a view of many of the bus passengers, shields me from the glare, and lets me sit alone away from the usual elbow room fights.

I can’t say why I opted for a different seat, but I am glad that I did. When we made the turn to Richmond Hill Centre, I would normally not have seen anything on the north side of the street.  Today I got to see a traffic jam caused by a raft of ducks crossing two lanes of this median equipped roadway.  They had just left the grassy area in front of the bookstore and were obviously headed somewhere, much to the utter befuddlement of the drivers.  The sight was beautiful and amusing.  At the same time, I looked up and a jumbo jet was almost crossing overhead.  A sure sign that I will be traveling soon.

I regard scenes like this as if they were from a movie designed especially for me. Had I take my normal seat, I wouldn’t have seen it.  Had I taken my usual bus, I wouldn’t have seen it.  The thing is, I did see it, and it was Perfect.

 

I had a hard time finding a title for this post.  I am curious what my readers would suggest.

 

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in Aspirations, Reflections, Perfection, bus, Exodus, Exodus Travels, public transportation, transportation, view, Viva, YRT and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

