Silver Lining?

Even when you win, you lose. Sorry, but there is no way I can manipulate this into a Perfect Moment.  I could easily dub this a horrific moment.  If you can somehow find the silver lining in this, please let me know.

The other day, when I was so happily getting my pictures printed in large size, I also bought some other things at the store. Nothing out of the ordinary.  Just regular foodstuffs.  I bought some milk.  Plain, white, 2% milk (don’t judge).  The horrific thing is, when I got home I scanned the receipt to ensure that I got my bonus points–yeah, probably should have looked at it in the store.  Actually, based on what happened, I am very happy that I did not look at the receipt.  In fact, I wish I had never looked at the receipt.

You see, they gave me a senior’s discount. I was under the impression that seniors were people who were 65 and over.  I am only 47.  I am not even in my 50’s.  I am not a senior.  It’s fantastic to receive a discount, but I think my pride is worth more than 85 cents.  Was it just because I was there in the early afternoon when people are supposed to be working?  Did she just make a mistake on the cash register?  Does the scraggly staycation beard make me look old–I’ll never go without shaving again.  Argggggh!  Do I look so old?

I asked if there was a silver lining, fully aware that there was a horrible pun involved in that line, but I am too shaken to change it. I feel like Charlie Brown leaning against Lucy’s Psychiatry stand with no nickel in my pocket.

I don’t know if I ever want to shop there again.  I have a lot of Optimum Points though.

 

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in aging, anger, Aspirations, Reflections, Perfection, discount, shopping and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Silver Lining?

  1. Quinn says:

    Maybe they just thought you looked like you could do with something to cheer up your day and that was the only sneaky discount they could give you? You know, like it was just a random act of kindness under the guise of a Senior Discount? It’s possible!

  2. bgddyjim says:

    Getting old sucks. Dammit. You and I are the same age.

  3. Sounds like something I would have done as a cashier. We had one day a week that was senior discount day, and it seemed like the only people that came in the store wanted the discount, so I’m sure I gave a lot of people that discount on autopilot without even looking at them.

    • Anthony says:

      I appreciate your kind words. Anything is possible. It could be that the register was set to the discount and the clerk, who jumped on to alleviate the line up, may not have noticed.
      It stresses me out, but it really shouldn’t. If it gives me motivation to improve my appearance…..well, that isn’t terrible…..I guess.

  4. Heide says:

    Last weekend one of my neighbors asked when I was due, Anthony. Although I laughed it off, I couldn’t help internalizing the question a bit and feeling fat for a few days afterward. But then I realized that I *was* wearing a tentlike top, and was maybe slouching a bit. I’m guessing your situation was similar, in that maybe the lighting was terrible, or the clerk was only 16 so everyone above 20 looks like a senior. I’m betting it’s the last senior discount you’ll get for a while, so enjoy the 85 cents. 🙂

    • Anthony says:

      My family was quite shocked when I told them the story today–very few of them read my blog–and those that weren’t rejoicing about the discount stated some of the same things you said. Again, thank you for the kind words. I might have to go back to the store the same time next week and see what happens. Hopefully, I will have a bigger ticket item with me.

Leave a Reply

