Life’s Classroom

IMG_20170621_170152794

As the cycling season gets going, there are always things that need fixing, updating, replacing. This is probably true of every sport, activity, or pastime. So far this year, I have changed my bib shorts, the batteries in my cycling computer, the card in my wallet.  Today, I changed the cleats on my cycling shoes.  I noticed on last weekend’s ride that the left one was coming loose rather easily.  I considered this a safety issue and decided to replace them immediately.  I could have waited another ride (probably) but I thought better of it.  They look so shiny and new.  I wish I had taken a photo of the gnarly ones I took off, just for juxtaposition.

Now, let’s be honest. Buying cleats for my cycling shoes is not Today’s Perfect Moment.  Considering how much these pieces of plastic cost, it might be considered Today’s Worst Deal, or Today’s Worst Expenditure, but nothing close to perfect.

What was Perfect, was spending time in the bicycle shop getting some more knowledge. The attendant, Nigel, gave me lots of good advice about riding, pedal floating, seat height, tire wear, and the advantages of 25mm tires over 23mm tires.  This may mean nothing to you, but I am sure you can apply it to something in your life.  Think about learning about one of your interests.  Thing about seeing someone perform the way you aspire to.  Think about someone so sincere and infectious answering all your questions without judgement.

I am a teacher, but I am always fascinated by life’s classroom. When I get to hear from someone who has knowledge (as opposed to blowhards that don’t and only want to dominate a conversation–yes, I work with a few of those) I really enjoy it.  When I get to talk to someone who really loves what they do, I really take it all in.

 

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in Aspirations, Reflections, Perfection, bicycles, bike shop, cycling, cycling gear, knowledge, shopping and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Life’s Classroom

  1. bgddyjim says:

    Nexf time, order them online and save some cash. Keo classic, gray… draw an outline aroumd the old clear with a pencil so you can position the new exactly where the old was. It’ll run you $10 – $12. 😉

    Now cleats are definitely nice.

  2. Heide says:

    I think you must be a *great* teacher because you’re always looking for new lessons, Anthony. Congratulations on your new cleats — and on this perfect moment.

Leave a Reply

