Again

I was inspired to write this post because I caught a bit of St. Elmo’s Fire on TV the other day, and wanted to watch the whole thing.  I had already seen the movie, but it was so long ago that it called for a  repeat.  After an enjoyable viewing, I started to think….

Entertainment is a funny thing with me. I don’t often read a book more than once and I don’t watch the same movies over and over again.  Maybe it is part of my desire to always be searching for something new.  Maybe, after subconsciously doing the math, I have realized that if I want to see all of it (or more of it than average) there really isn’t time to see some things twice.

That is not to say that I don’t watch some movies more than once or read some books more than once. Some books and movies become touchstones.  Some have some built in comfort while some others benefit from repeat visits.  Below is my list.

Movies I watch regularly

Lost in Translation–It might be because it is about Japan.  It might me be because it is one of the few movies that really “gets” Japan and doesn’t reduce Japan to too much of a stereotype.  Everyone I know who has been there loves the movie.  I wish I could thank Sofia Coppola personally.

The Breakfast Club–I love this movie. I laugh, I sympathize, I wonder.  I get to replay the Ginger vs. Mary Ann debate in the form of Claire vs. Allison.  Thank you Mr. Hughes.  You did a very good job.

Books I read regularly

Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance–As I commented to someone just the other day (on a blog on WordPress) you have to read this book more than once. Not because you will have missed something, but because you will have found something.

The Sun Also Rises–I could talk this book into the ground and maybe some of you won’t agree. I don’t care.  Every couple of years I read this book and each time it is like the first time.  Each time, I wonder if we have lost something.  I wonder if I was born in the wrong time.  I also wonder why no one can write a book like this one about Japan–then I remember that it should be me.

Which books can you read more than once? Which movies are good for multiple viewings?

 

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in Aspirations, Reflections, Perfection, books, movies, reading and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Again

  1. Quinn says:

    I haven’t read either of these books! Will have to add them to my reader…

  2. As someone who does watch favorite movies repeatedly, I echo your “Breakfast Club” sentiment! Have seen it a guesstimated 12-15 times and still can watch it again! “Alice in Wonderland” — perhaps not my favorite book of all time — can’t pick one meeting that single status — but a timeless classic for sure.

Leave a Reply

