Brazilian, Anyone?

It is the end of my current teaching session. My students will take their big test next week (CAE) and I will be keeping my fingers crossed that they are all successful.  Seeing as it was the last day, tradition dictated that we go out for lunch.

In years past, I have been to a couple of Mexican restaurants, but mostly we’ve gone to an all you can eat Chinese food place, which had a lot of food that I really thought had no connection to China. I’m not going to lie, some of it is very delicious, even though so little of it belongs in a Chinese restaurant (pizza, roast beef, french fries….you get the idea).  Today, the students opted for something totally different.

We had lunch at a Brazilian restaurant. This is not uncommon for students at my school, as we have a large, proud and vocal about their food, Brazilian population, it seemed an odd choice for my class which had no Brazilians.

Nonetheless, the food was delicious and plentiful. I had the chance to order and eat outside my comfort zone.  I finally got to understand what my students were talking about.

After that, we went for a delicious Italian coffee at an Italian coffee bar –sorry I didn’t take any photos.  Unlike the tale above, we did have an Italian student with us.  He was from Rome, so he spent a lot of time talking about Totti’s retirement.  I couldn’t quite follow, but he seemed quite passionate about it.

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in Aspirations, Reflections, Perfection, Brazil, ESL, ethnic food, food, food shopping, restaurant, students and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

