Cider with Hemmingway

002.jpg

The end of my day became very social. While waiting for a friend to have some drinks with, I was invited to have drinks with some other friends.  I think that is what they call a “win-win” situation.  Although both social events were great, and the second one was longer and situated far from the dungeon of work, I have give the nod to this one pictured here.

Why? you might ask innocently.

Basically, I find it quite Hemmingwayesque to have found myself having a drink in the work kitchen at the end of a rather long day.   It’s probably the wrong idea and about as far from Hemmingway as you can get.  It could be that this image was brought about by the co-worker who supplied the libation.  He speaks Spanish and had the opportunity to turn it loose in front of us.  I suppose there are alternatives.  If drugs had been involved, I would have considered calling it a Hunter S. Thompson moment.

Once you add the information that we were drinking homemade cider–which was better than any mass-produced, store bought cider I have ever had–you can see why it took top honours and became Today’s Perfect Moment.

I wonder what the students would have thought.

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in Aspirations, Reflections, Perfection, drinks, food and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

