Perfect Moments of the Near Past

coffee 010

I’m laying catch up with the Perfect Moments.

Sunday’s Perfect Moment was a combination of three great things (in no particular order):  Japanese food, an interesting cafe, and friends from a long time ago.  Having reunited with an old friend, whose original (and apparently intense) friendship only lasted four months, we made plans to get together with another mutual friend who she had contact with, but I had lost touch with.

We went to a lovely Japanese restaurant (Sakawa Coffee), which did not feature either sushi or sashimi, but did a nice job with Tonkatsu, grilled fish and other Japanese cooking. It was a small place, but it had a decent amount of atmosphere.  As a bonus, the ownership and staff were Japanese from Tochigi and I could practice my language skills.

We later went to a cafe (The One and Only Cafe I believe it was called) to drink some wonderful beverages. Mine was the standard one seen here, whereas  one of my companions had a blood red cup of tea–I had never suspected his vampire tendencies before.

Catching up was great. Time has passed, but there were enough things to remind me that as distant as it seems, some things are easily recoverable.

Sadly, the chance to meet them required a bus ride, followed by two subway rides and a shuttle bus ride, which was redeemed only by the attractive woman in the distinctive athletic wear standing beside me as I precariously clung to the hand bar, not even remotely succeeding in reading my book. I am going to have to blame the bus driver rather than my distractions.

Going home was better as it required an additional shuttle bus, which I abandoned when I saw the crowds and set off on food. I arrived later and definitely sweatier, but I was happy not to get on that bus.

 

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in Aspirations, Reflections, Perfection, coffee, ethnic food, food, friends, friendship, Japanese, restaurant and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Perfect Moments of the Near Past

  1. Anonymous says:

    Proust’s madeleines have nothing over on your prose and the Only’s lattes, Anthony 🙂 Cheers to reconnections, and to cultivating appreciation of past and present pleasures.
    How’s your roof?

  2. Karen says:

    Anonymous AKA Karen

Leave a Reply

