New Topics of Conversation…Finally

English teachers, especially new ones, love to talk about grammar and teaching. With the summer upon us and an huge influx of teachers for the busy summer season, things can get loud in the teacher’s room.  The debates about the Oxford comma alone can eat up a lot of time.  Unfortunately, as of late, I have had a “been there, done that attitude.  This might be the wrong attitude.  I know it certainly isn’t nurturing of the new “talent” but sometimes, enough is enough.  Sometimes, I just don’t want to talk about gerunds and infinitives or the many uses of the present perfect.  Sometimes, I want to be stimulated.

So that leaves us at today. Today’s Perfect Moment was a conversation at work that wasn’t about work.  Despite being held by a group of unfed and caffeine deprived ESL teachers, not a word of grammar was spoken.  It was highly articulate and liberally spiced with profanity.  I can’t change that truth, so there is no point in lying about it here.

The topic, in case you were curious, was about countries where women did not take their husband’s name at the time of marriage. While I don’t have an opinion one way or the other, most of the women speaking were not allowed to take their husband’s name, and consequently did not have the same family name as their children.  As you can imagine, this creates a few problems while travelling.

I didn’t participate very much in the conversation, but I enjoyed it nonetheless.  Why can’t every break time be like that?

 

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in Aspirations, Reflections, Perfection, conversation, ESL, teaching, Toronto, travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to New Topics of Conversation…Finally

  1. Quinn says:

    “most of the women speaking were not allowed to take their husband’s name”

    Why not?? I would have thought if anything it would be the other way around!

  2. My paternal grandmother adopted me in 1965 when I was 10. When she died in 2003, her sons told me not to come to the funeral. Stupid me didn’t realize that one had to have an invitation to attend a funeral. Because of that, a year later I legally dropped my last name and took my middle name as my last name. Then, since I’m gay, I married my husband in 2008 when it became legal in California to do so. Neither of us changed our last names. We didn’t want to go that far; we just wanted all the city, county, state, and federal benefits that marriage provides, so we wanted that legal document.

Leave a Reply

