The Girl Who Ate Sushi

sushi

I know I shouldn’t stare. And, on the face of it, she probably thought I was staring because she was an attractive young woman.  That wasn’t the case at all.  I was staring because she was doing something I had never seen being done on my bus before.  I’ve seen lots of interesting stuff on my bus and from my bus windows, so you know that this is going to be good.

Sadly, I didn’t find the courage to ask her if I could photograph her.

So, while lamenting the exit of an incredibly beautiful woman from the bus, I noticed that one of the people entering was carrying a tray of sushi. Feeling peckish and loving sushi (though I love sashimi more–the fundamental difference being only slight and not worth going into here in detail) I couldn’t help but stare.  I was even considering stopping and getting some for my own dinner.  What a great idea to take some sushi home.

Then she opened the tray, precariously balanced it on her lap while opening the soy sauce, and proceeded to eat the sushi, with full chopstick dexterity. She grasped the tray in her left had and pried the sushi off the tray with her right.  When necessary, she reached for the slightly open aforementioned soy sauce package and doused her sushi some more.

I have trouble eating my Cliff Bar or drinking coffee from my travel mug.

It was a rather troubling end to my day and I really didn’t think I would have anything to write about for Today’s Perfect Moment. Fortunately, something pretty good found me.

 

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in Aspirations, Reflections, Perfection, bus, commuting, eating, ethnic food, food, Japan, Japanese, public transportation, sushi and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Girl Who Ate Sushi

  1. Quinn says:

    Sashimi is delicious.

    I congratulate that woman on her skill, because bus eating is not a talent I’ve mastered in my years on this planet, but I also give her a wary virtual side-eye because a large part of me thinks no food should be allowed on the bus.

    …Just opens the floodgates for people with tuna sandwiches.

Leave a Reply

