On the Road

driving

The shortest distance between two points is a straight line.  While that may be true, it isn’t necessarily the most enjoyable.  Also, outside of the 401, Yonge Street and downtown Toronto, not really applicable for the roads in Ontario.  The roads themselves are straight, but you generally have to make a bunch of turns to get where you want to go.

Today, I decided to make more turns than were necessary. I don’t know if it was because I recently watched the movie version of On the Road, or if I am just tired of the roads I travel.  Either way, I chose to make a few more turns, go through a few small towns and glimpse a different perspective on the journey.

It seemed like a good thing to do. The sights were unfamiliar but not too unfamiliar.  There were different gas stations scattered among the typical chain stores.  There were different yards with different cars.  There were different fences, from white picket to gnarly wood to dull mostly brown boards, with only a handful askew.  With different bends in the roads came unfamiliar speed traps (thank you fellow drivers).  With hard to read road signs, the open road beckoned.

Also

Today is a day worth noting here at the blog.  I have had the same number of page views as I had all of last year.  I guess that means the blog is growing.  I like that.

 

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in Aspirations, Reflections, Perfection, blog, blogging, blogposts, driving, review, success, view and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to On the Road

  1. Quinn says:

    I like the windy roads even when they take twice as long… Village bypasses have made road trips so dull!

  2. Heide says:

    Way to shake up that routine, Anthony! Isn’t it kind of fun to be a tourist in your own town? I’m trying to do more of that myself. And congrats too on the growth of your blog. I’m glad you’re being rewarded with more readership; you certainly deserve it. 🙂

  3. Toronto. My #2 Canadian city even though I have been there a few hundred times more than my #1 Canadian city (which is Vancouver).

Leave a Reply

