Rebuilding Aurora

construction aurora 001

I wish they had put a hole in the boards and not made me take this picture from the side through a chain-link fence.  Oh well.  There is still that little boy in me who can stop and look at construction sites. I suppose that is in all of us.  If it isn’t, why not?  Where has your sense of wonder gone.

Enough berating. That wasn’t my intention for starting this post.  I meant to write about construction and building and rebuilding.  This all came from my walk yesterday.  My town, arguably a commuter town to Toronto with only slightly better real estate prices, has lots of new buildings going up.  At the same time, lots of businesses in the downtown area have closed or are under new management.   The lot in the photo above held a supermarket when I first moved to town.

While stopping to take these construction photos a couple of guys in car asked me “Which one is yours?” thinking that I was buying a condo. When I explained, the car passenger lamented that things had really changed here in the last ten years.

I chuckled and said, “Forget about the last ten years. Things have changed a lot in the last year.”

While I might grumble at the use of good fertile farmland for housing developments, I am not against change. While I feel bad when businesses go under, I know that it was a failure of the business plan, or poor location, or frankly an under needed product.  I hope the new business will be more successful.

Sadly, in the downtown of my town, there seems to be less success. While more and more people move here, and more condos are built in the downtown area, things don’t seem any better.  Maybe it is the lack of parking.  Maybe it is the lack of foot traffic.   I mean, lots of cars go by, but I saw very few people walking.  It was a beautiful day, but that didn’t seem to mean much.  Maybe the rents and taxes are too high. That’s something for the politicians to consider.

Where’s the perfect moment in all of this?  Like I started this post, there is this little boy inside of me who stops to look at construction.  Unfortunately there is this adult in me that also stops to ponder the consequences.

 

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in achievement, adapting, adversity, Aspirations, Reflections, Perfection, Aurora, buildings, business, constructions, Toronto Real Estate and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Rebuilding Aurora

  1. Heide says:

    I’m noticing the same trend in my city, Anthony: The condo buildings are going up everywhere, but the sidewalks still seem (mostly) devoid of life. On the plus side, I expect by now you and I have spent so much time watching construction sites that we’re fully qualified to operate a backhoe. 🙂

  2. Back in 1966 as an 11-year-old boy, my wise old grandmother helped me set up my very first business. Since then, another 36. Friends call me a “serial entrepreneur.” One of the things that my wise old grandmother said is that location location location won’t always work if you don’t advertise. There’s a corner a couple of blocks from where I lived 2007-2015 that is the epitome of location location location. A restaurant would move in and go out of business in 6 months. That happened every six months for 8 years. Just after I moved, a restaurant moved in and actually sent out Grand Opening postcards, one of which the USPS forwarded to my new address. That restaurant is still in business 2 years later. I also have discovered that one can have an “under needed product” and, with advertising, make that produce much more needed.

Leave a Reply

