Dandelion Whine

dandelions 003

First of all, this post probably should have been called My Thoughts on Dandelions and Other Assorted Weeds, but that just seemed like a rather long title and probably gave so much away that nobody would read it. The shortened title, at least to my mind, contains some mystery.  There is the possibility that I might be talking about more than dandelions.  There is the possibility that this whole thing might contain an important allegory.

When I got off the bus, I was confronted by this field of rather unkempt grass. Though I passed this way in the morning, I certainly don’t remember seeing it that way.  Perhaps the field spouted while I was at work.  Perhaps the sun was in my eyes.

I have heard several people complaining about the fields of these things in my neighbourhood. My neighbour has even ranted at me a couple of times.  Many people seem to stop and shake their heads before continuing their walks.  The ones with immaculate lawns are probably slyly importing banned weed killer from across the border–but who am I to say.

Certainly, keeping poisons from our water tables is a noble goal. Publically, many shouted bravo.  Privately, they rushed out to the store to stock up on Killex, and patted themselves on the back for their foresight.  The rest of us gamely try to pull the weeds when they show up and douse the ones in the cracks with boiling water.  All the while I wonder, is there any animal out there that could just come and eat these things?  If we can make dandelion wine….maybe we don’t need dandelion whine.

dandelions 007

Is there some beauty in the weeds? Could I look upon a field of these things, as I did getting off the bus, and think that they look beautiful?  Having been taught from an early age that they were not beautiful, it seems somewhat doubtful. What about when they are so commonplace that our children will see them just as grass and not pests?

Confronted by a field of them, on a bright sunny afternoon, at least for a moment, I thought differently. For a moment, reflecting that nature had the upper hand against mankind and its inventions, I could see the ironic beauty in it.

Then again, it is only a matter of time until we will discover and effective organic weed killer.

 

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in Aspirations, Reflections, Perfection, environment, weeds and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Dandelion Whine

  1. Quinn says:

    There is a house nearby and I take photos every time I pass because their front garden is COVERED in dandelions. It looks like they’re cultivating them, honestly. It’s amazing. They’re almost knee-high. I think at one point it probably looked a bit scraggly but now it’s just… impressive. I mean, I don’t know if they don’t care about their garden or if they have a particular fondness for dandelions, but whichever it is I’m truly enjoying it. I think I’ll be a little bit sad if they every mow their lawn!

  2. My wise old grandmother told me that “a weed is any plant that grows where you don’t want it to grow.” For 8 years I had a yellow rose growing in my cactus garden. In spite of its beauty, it was a weed as far as I was concerned. I tried everything to get rid of it. I chopped it to pieces, never watered it (it was in a cactus garden, after all), Round-Upped it, dug it out. It always came back, fuller and stronger.
    On the other side of the coin, I’m the only one I know of who used to have containers of dandelions. They are so pretty, their seed heads are fun, and their leaves are very good in salads. They taste good, are low in calories, and are packed with vitamins.

Leave a Reply

