Anime Eyes

eye

A young women sat near me on the bus today.  Despite registering her obviously good looks when she got on the bus, her age having derailed any romantic notions that I would have, I didn’t look at her too deeply.

When she came to sit near me, I immediately noticed that she had perfect Japanese anime eyes.  They were of that quintessential shape that anime and manga characters all seem to have.  Having grown up watching these programs, I am acutely aware of them.

How could merely seeing someone’s eyes, not talking to them, not staring deeply into them and not even complimenting them be a Perfect Moment?  How could one drop of rain be one?  How could the sound of a baseball striking a bat be one?  How could the smell of freshly brewed coffee mixed with the cinnamon smell of a Danish fresh from the oven be one?

The Perfect Moment is a Perfect Moment.  I don’t control it.  I can’t put limits on it.  I can’t constrain it.  I can’t make it fit into a box that it doesn’t fit into.  All I can do is share it with you.

 

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in animation, anime, Aspirations, Reflections, Perfection, Japan and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

