Mother’s Day and Pre-Mother’s Day

Look, let’s get serious for a minute. There is no way I could choose anything other than celebrating Mother’s Day with my Mother and other family members as Today’s Perfect Moment.  To do anything else, wouldn’t only be wrong, but it could probably be fatal.  If not fatal, then at least destructive at a familial level.

As it was we went for brunch at the boat club (sounds way snootier than it is). Given that brunch anywhere on Mother’s Day is a planning nightmare, this turned out to be quite good.  I had a nice omelette that the chef forgot to put cheese on, lots of fruit and enough bacon to possibly OD on.  Sounds like Mother’s Day worked out well.

We had Pre-Mother’s Day on Saturday which involved visiting my Mom’s Mother (yes, I should have written my grandmother, but I was working with a theme and limitations within that theme…). While this was done mostly symbolically in a field full of stones, it was an important part of Pre Mother’s Day.  So was sneaking off to get a Mother’s Day card, but that was more a result of poor preparation on Friday.

If it weren’t Mother’s Day, I might have picked any of the following:

  • almond M&Ms from the dollar store
  • Jewel and Erin Karpluk (two women I have incredible crushes on) together in a made for TV movie
  • Cycling on TV (though too late to watch today)
  • A good conversation with my friend
  • Actual completion of some house based tasks
  • The crushing of my Fitbit step goal for today

This list isn’t very exciting, so Mother’s Day was an easy winner.

To all the mother’s out there. Happy Mother’s Day.  I speak for us all when I say, Thank You for all that you have done for us.  We certainly wouldn’t be here if it weren’t for you. 

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in Aspirations, Reflections, Perfection, brunch, celebration, eating, Erin Karpluk, family ties, food, mother's day and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

