A Student with the Right Idea

chocolates

Today’s Perfect Moment is a simple one. The only thing unusual about it is that it isn’t about me, but that it stirred some memories in me.

During one of the breaks between classes, one of my students “went out to buy some chocolate”.  This in itself is hardly remarkable.  What did catch my interest was the interesting assortment of chocolate bars he brought back.

I asked him why he chose them and his answer was something like, “I tried to pick chocolate bars we can’t get at home.”

I understood him perfectly. He wanted to experience different things while abroad.  When I travel, I have much the same purposes.  I don’t want to try something I can easily get at home.  When I am in Japan, I want to try Japanese chocolates and potato chips.  When I was in Vietnam, I wanted beer from Vietnam, or snacks you could only get there.  I didn’t go around the world looking for a mirror of my own culture.

I know people draw comfort from familiar things. There are going to be times when abroad that you need something comforting.  It just shouldn’t be all the time.

So, as you might have guessed, my student so clearly reflecting my attitude and giving me a chance to reflect on it is Today’s Perfect Moment.

 

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in Aspirations, Reflections, Perfection, chocolate, culture, ESL, making the most out of a situation, snacks, students, Swiss, travel. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Student with the Right Idea

  1. Heide says:

    What a perfect, perfect moment! I love your and your student’s attitude in seeking out things “you can’t buy at home.” I would have pounced on the Bounty bar. 🙂

Leave a Reply

