Air in the Tires, Air in my Soul

Vietnam 2017 637

Yesterday, I went to the cycle store to pick up my new bib. If you are following this blog, you might remember that my cycling bib died a horrible death.  I don’t know whether it was shock, weather, or research that kept me from taking care of this earlier.  I am not done yet, either.  I now know that having only one set really invited disaster.  Thanks to lots of readers, I have some good leads on some other pairs I would like to purchase.

Before you go thinking that buying the bib shorts was Yesterday’s Perfect Moment, you’d be wrong. I was going to make a purchase either way.  There are several shops in my immediate area and one of them was going to get my patronage and others still might.  No, spending money will never be big on the list of Perfect Moments.  Shopping rarely excites me.

Instead, it was just that idea of taking really steps to getting back out on the bike again. It was only a couple of months ago that I was in Vietnam cycling around and really enjoying myself.  I want that again.  Most of the people from the trip got back to climates which were more favourable for riding and barely missed a step.  For me, it has been a long wait, albeit shorter than it normally would have been.

I enjoyed walking around the bike shop, wondering if I needed to upgrade any of my stuff. There were so many new and exciting things.I briefly considered a new helmet.  I wondered if I should get myself a Garmin with cadence sensors and a heart monitor.  Even briefer,  a new mostly carbon bike came to mind.  Alas, a new roof on the house and dreams of either Chile or Sri Lanka Exodus trip put that dream to rest.

When I got home, I quickly renewed my membership to my local bike club. The paperwork was a bit tedious, but it is another step forward instead of the dull holding pattern I had found myself in.  Now, I have to start stretching….and I had better check the tire pressure.

 

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in Aspirations, Reflections, Perfection, bicycles, cycling, cycling gear, Exodus, Exodus Travels, shopping, spending money, weather and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Air in the Tires, Air in my Soul

  1. Heide says:

    Great observation that sometimes these tedious (or downright unpleasant) tasks are worthwhile when they lead to something we really enjoy, Anthony. I hope you’ll love your new bib and that it will last longer than two years. Happy riding!

Leave a Reply

