Postcards from Vietnam

vietnam postcards 006

My mother asked me to send her a postcard from Vietnam.  Though she has Facebook and gets email updates about this blog, she specifically requested I send her a postcard.  I can’t fault her for that.  When I lived in Japan, I regularly sent out postcards.  In fact, I think my family and friends still have them.

Postcards seem to have fallen by the wayside for me. Other than this one, I can’t remember sending any in the last 10 or 15 years.  For this last trip, I thought Facebook posts and the blog would be enough.  Not for my Mom.  She wanted a postcard.

I felt like I owed it to her. I didn’t do a good job with Christmas cards this year and have spoken openly about my lack of desire to receive cards for holidays like Easter, Christmas, and even my birthday.  I like the sentiment and the thought, but I don’t need the clutter.

While in Hoi An, I bought some postcards. This is something I do regularly.  I buy them not to send to people, but for myself.  Sometimes postcards capture things that I cannot. They are good professional photos of things I want to capture, but owing to crowds and camera equipment, usually can’t.

I bought a bunch of them and was able to buy appropriate postage at the same time . This was convenient.  I quickly scrawled a parent appropriate message on the back (no swear words, no references to sex or partying) and went in search of a post box.  I probably passed dozens of them, but didn’t really know what they looked like.  On the advice of our guide, I left it at the front desk of the hotel to be mailed out.  This was around the sixth of March.

The postcard arrived today. (April 19th)

Question:  Do you still send postcards when you go on vacation?

 

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in advice, Aspirations, Reflections, Perfection, Exodus, Exodus Travels, postcards, travel, Vietnam and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Postcards from Vietnam

  1. Sarah Warsi says:

    I still see value in post cards though I have never sent one while away myself. I think it only makes sense to do that when you are away for a longer term and perhaps doing an international trip (like Japan). With everything being so digital now, it’s welcoming to bring back something traditional like post cards – adds a nice, personal touch. 🙂

  2. Julian-G says:

    Hi! Postcards are a beautiful thing. However, Big & Small don’t use them we merely collect postcards. Have you noticed that postcards are getting harder to find? We had a hard time finding postcards in Hong Kong for some reason. Go Figure!

  3. Yes to postcards! I’m at my best on the road. Makes me wanna say hello to someone I care about.

  4. leggypeggy says:

    I send postcards when I can bring together a card and a stamp and a postbox. I once waited 45 minutes in a queue in Brazil so I could hand over six postcards to be mailed. No letterbox!

Leave a Reply

