Are You Still on the Traveller’s High he asked.

Vietnam camera 2017 002

I have been home a month from my vacation and one of my colleagues asked me if the “Traveller’s high” had warn off yet. I had to ask for clarification of what this was.

He explained that when you came back from a trip like mine, people were usually pumped up for a while. They were already talking about their next trip and still in mad contact with the people on their trips.  They were trying to replicate that life in their modern life–It made me think of an episode of How I Met Your Mother when Robin tries to mix her South American Trip life back in with her New York Life.

Looking back, I had all those symptoms. I had barely unpacked my bags when I started leafing through the catalogue of trips again.  The people on the trip were posting things to whatsapp several times a day–often at inconvenient hours for me living on a different continent.  I wrote several blogs about my next adventure, even trying to pester Exodus into sponsoring me to take a trip and blog about it.  Yes, I was definitely on a high.

The thing is, though, as I explored this idea today, I think I am still on it. I am actively planning my next trip, and actively worrying if I will be able to pay for it.  I am making a list of gear I want to buy for this real/hypothetical trip.  I am spending some of my commuting time thinking about what it is going to be like.

On the other hand, the posts to the app have died down considerably. I am still in contact with some people on Facebook, but that could be said about a lot of people.  I am still blogging about it, but that might just be because of my colleague’s questions.

The truth is, I don’t want this feeling to go away. I want to keep hold of this and nurture it to grow even bigger.  I don’t want this feeling to fade with time, only to be brought up when I look through the photographs or pass a Vietnamese restaurant and smell the coffee.  I don’t want it to be a thing of reverie and nostalgia.  I want it to live and breathe in the present.

 

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in adventure, ambition, Aspirations, Reflections, Perfection, coffee, Exodus Travels, nostalgia, travel and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

