Hey Commuter

 

viva3

Hey commuter.   No, not you.  Not the commuter who sits behind the wheel cursing the bad drivers, the stupid drivers, and the drivers who should just get moving instead of riding their brakes.  Not you who can’t find a radio station with something good on.  Not you who wearily eyes the gas gauge trying to estimate how far you can go before you absolutely have to.  I am not talking to you.

I am talking to the bus or subway commuter. The one who has the monthly pass or a coin case full of tokens.  Maybe you’re the one who has joined the technological revolution and is casually running the finger along the edge of your new presto pass.  I am talking to you.

What kind of commuter are you? Are you the book reader or the music listener?  Sometimes, I see people who are both and I can’t quite wrap my head around it.  Are you the sleeper or the sharp-eyed person caring more about who’s getting on or off than who’s still sitting there?  Are you the person staring through the fog covered windows at the world outside like you’re in some 80’s music video.

Are you the person on the phone who’s somewhat personal conversation is broadcast to all of us? Are you the one listening to music on headphones designed to irritate other passengers more than they are to improve your listening experience?  Are you the one who reeks of pot?  Are you the one who just needed to have a beer before you get home and have started drinking on the bus?  Please don’t forget to take your can home with you.  Nobody wants it rattling around the bus.  Are you the one who’s bag needs its own seat?  I shouldn’t be talking to you and your selfish ego, but I am.

Are you that beautiful women who boards the bus with her aura glowing for all to see? Are you that person that transforms the bus from a daily drudge to brilliant moment?  Are you the one who leaves suddenly, making all of us sigh? I am talking to you, but might not be able to hear it because I am saying it in my head instead of to you.  Shyness is a horrible thing.

While I can’t claim to be all of you, and I can’t claim to be none of you, I can admit that I am some of you. Today, with its rainy loneliness, I had time to contemplate this.  I  couldn’t find a perfect moment in it, but found moments worth writing about.

 

 

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in Aspirations, Reflections, Perfection, beer, bus, commuting, public transportation, subway and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

