I’m Going to Make You Mad Teacher

kit kat and snow 003

“I am sorry teacher, but I am going to make you angry,” my student said with a mischievous glimmer in his eye and a slightly crooked smile upon his lips.

I feared that he was going to complain about my teaching, or tear up his textbook, or maybe threaten to hand in twenty essays for me to mark. Instead, he did something much worse.  He did something even more unforgiveable.

Do you ever feel like your life is just like a Seinfeld episode? Maybe that was the point of the show.  Maybe life imitates art or art imitates life.  Have I lost you?  Have I sent you down some existential rabbit hole,  or are you still reading?

The episode in question is the one where George eats his chocolate bar (maybe he called it a candy bar–I am not really up on American slang) with a fork. By the end of the episode, everyone is doing it.  I think something like that has happened to me.

You see, a few months ago I wrote a post called The Right Way to Eat a KitKat. It featured one of my students eating his kitkat in the most incorrect way.  The post proved quite popular.  (Feel free to read it by clicking on the link)  It is one of my posts that often gets seen by people using search engines.  I guess a lot of people want information about kitkats.

Although the post proved popular, I didn’t expect to see anyone repeating the feat. I expected it to die out like the bird dance, pogs, tamagotchi, and any other countless fads.  As you can see from my picture, the phenomenon of eating a kitkat incorrectly has not died out.  I can’t say if flourishes…….but what if it continues?

Seriously. What if it becomes a regular thing?

In the end, I had no other recourse but to assign extra homework.

 

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in adapting, adversity, Aspirations, Reflections, Perfection, chocolate, food, kit kat, seinfeld and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I’m Going to Make You Mad Teacher

  1. The wiser says:

    Just not right. only one by one is acceptable

  2. bgddyjim says:

    That’s detention worthy. Assuming you can still do detention.

Leave a Reply

