A Question for You

Perhaps I am guilty of using WP like some others would use Facebook.  Probably that is because I seem to have a better rapport with most of you.

suitcase

I have a question, and it was the perfect “poll” type of question.  Unfortunately, I couldn’t understand how to insert a poll question into this blog.

When taking trips

  1. are you well prepared in advance with your bags packed well before
  2. well prepared, but not too far in advance
  3. seemingly well prepared, but still mildly rushing around on the day of departure
  4. racing around on the day of departure having to sprint to the airport, all the while worried that you’ve forgotten something
About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in Aspirations, Reflections, Perfection, questions, Vietnam and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to A Question for You

  1. hmunro says:

    My answer to your poll is 5: “All of the above.” One of my favorite things about traveling is the anticipation leading up to the trip, so it’s not uncommon for me to draft a packing list weeks before my departure — and to then pack my back days before the flight. But then almost inevitably the weather changes and I’m forced to rethink my approach, and I end up running around the house like a crazed weasel when I should be on my way to the airport. And as a direct result, it’s also almost inevitable that I arrive at the airport and realize I left a phone charger or camera lens sitting on the counter in my haste. I always resolve to do better next time but I never quite succeed, so I’m starting to accept it as part of my pre-trip routine. How about you? Are you as meticulous a pre-packer as that suitcase on the sofa might suggest?

    • Anthony says:

      That well pre-packed piece of luggage came from free rights photographs.
      I am a careful planner. I make lists, go shopping, and then pile everything somewhere near my luggage.
      I usually overpack because I don’t really think about what I need, but rather what I might need.
      For my trip to Vietnam, I am hoping to break that cycle. I leave on Friday night, so I still have a few days left.
      My father is taking me to the airport, and he will be earlier than he says he will arrive and will demand that we leave “right now”–so yes, scrambling around.

      • hmunro says:

        Ha ha! I *love* that I was giving you neatness points on account of a stock photo, Anthony. See how deceptive the internet can be? Well, I’m sure you’re very neat anyway. 🙂 All joking aside, I wish you the best with your packing for Vietnam! On the plus side, I imagine it will be quite warm so hopefully the lightness of the clothes will allow a bit more room in your suitcase. And no matter what you bring with you, I hope you will have a wonderful time!

      • Anthony says:

        Thank you. The only things I am taking that are somewhat different are going to be the stuff needed for cycling–helmet, gloves, water bottles, cycling shades.
        Probably one of the worst things is that what I where to and from the airport will need a place in my bag. It has been warm, but if the temperature gets back to normal, my body is in for a shock.
        Hopefully I have prepared well. I am going to pack tonight and tomorrow.
        Thanks for your warm wishes.
        Have a good time while I am away.

      • hmunro says:

        I’ll do my best to behave in your absence. 🙂 Bon voyage!

      • Anthony says:

        Please don’t do that. You should take the advice I gave my students. Behave as badly as you can.

      • hmunro says:

        One question: If I get arrested, will you post my bail? 😉

      • Anthony says:

        Anything below a felony….above that, just don’t get caught.

  2. bgddyjim says:

    2. All the way. I get to the airport two hours early, breeze through security and sit, reading for an hour and a half, confident I’ve taken care of everything, and knowing I can buy whatever I forgot.

  3. Brittany says:

    I am most like #2, but a little bit of #3. I don’t panic rush around though, I just sometimes leave things until the day of. I find this works best for me. I don’t pack much though so it’s easy for me.

  4. Well prepared, with thorough lists of what to bring, but not packed until the night before. Why wrinkle my clothes?

Leave a Reply

