Awarded

I was nominated for the Mystery Blogger Award by JustAGirlAndABike.  Thank you very much.

She has been wonderful and supportive.  Her story is quite fascinating and I urge you to take a look at her blog if you have not done so already.  Additionally, she has recently published a book and I encourage you to support her in that as well.

mystery

Mystery Blogger Award is an award for amazing bloggers with ingenious posts. Their blog not only captivates; it inspires and motivates. They are one of the best out there, and they deserve every recognition they get. This award is also for bloggers who find fun and inspiration in blogging;  and they do it with so much love and passion.

– Okoto Enigma

The rules are:

  1. List the rules.
  2. Put the award logo/image in your blog.
  3. Thank whoever nominated you and provide a link to their blog.
  4. Mention the creator of the award and provide a link as well.
  5. Tell your readers three things about yourself.
  6. Nominate 10-20 people.
  7. Notify your nominees.
  8. Ask your nominees any five questions of your choice with one weird or funny question (specify)
  9. Share a link to your best posts

Three things about myself:

Strange that this award would ask me to answer questions and also give some information about myself.  I am not sure I have anything spectacularly revelatory to share.

Despite spending a lot of time decluttering, I cannot seem to get rid of the clutter.  I buy organizers, read books on organizing, regularly purge…but it just never seems to go away.

I had not owned a cellphone until about one year ago.  I was really hoping to never get one, but society has changed.  People don’t want to meet you in front of places.  People want to text, not talk.  People want you to respond to email when you aren’t near your computer.

I have a passion for teaching which does not extend to the paperwork, grading and other stuff that is a very real part of the job.

The questions I was asked, and the answers I have given:

What was one of your favorite adventures?

On my second last trip to Japan, I took the Shinkansen (aka the bullet train) west down to Hakata/Fukuoka.  Having a rail pass made this trip affordable, but didn’t provide the impetus.  In fact, I traveled that considerable distance just to eat Ramen.  I had seen one particular chef outclass his competitors on several episodes of TV Champion.  I knew I wanted to go to this restaurant and I made it happen.  It was delicious.

These days, Ippudo, has opened branches in many cities in Japan.  The last time I was there I managed to track down one location in Osaka and got to enjoy their delicious and spicy ramen one more time.

Where is your favorite place to be?

Tough question. I love being on mountain tops, skis on.  I love being on trains, the rhythmic clacking taking me places.  I love being at the airport, watching the planes take off and land.  Those are the answers which speak to my adventurous side.

On a more local note, I love sitting around a campfire drinking beer with my friends. I love being in the library, surrounded by books, surrounded by words and ideas expressed in so many different ways.  I love being in my car, with a song I love but haven’t heard in a long time playing on the radio.

On a more philosophical note, I love being inside a story. I love being taken away by words and the images that they create.  I love feeling invested in a character and hoping that I haven’t already guessed the ending.

And I love being asleep with my cat curled up on my legs making it far too hot.

What is your favorite meal?

I’ve said it before, pizza loves me. Tonkatsu or Okonomiyaki would be a close second.

Do you prefer morning or night?

Oddly enough, I am a morning person and a night person. What I am not is an afternoon person.  Sadly, though, a lot of ESL teaching seems to happen at this time.  Why that is, I do not know.

Do you prefer winter or summer?

I prefer winter. When it’s cold, you can put on more clothes.  I can ski.  I can skate.  I can toboggan.

Nominations

The following blogs bring me smiles.  Though the rules state a very large number to nominate, that just isn’t going to happen.  Doubtless, I will forget some deserving entries.   Sorry.  I also tried to nominate some new entries.

  1. Teach or Die Trying–maybe because I can so obviously sympathize.
  2. Life as an English Teacher in South Korea–again, maybe it is my empathy with this person.  It could also be because her personal story is so interesting.  Or maybe it is the yukele playing.
  3. Scribbles from Overseas–It is interesting for me to read about someone touring my city (well at least the city I work in).
  4. Petite Activist–because, we need activists of all shapes and sizes.
  5. Sarah Warsi–Her search for happiness seems so much more fuller than mine–more inclusive, more farther reaching.  She’s in it for all of us.
  6. Johnna Slaby–Interesting.  Different.  Art definitely.

Questions for Them

  1. What is one thing you do better than anyone you know?
  2. What is one thing you would like to learn about or how to do?
  3. If you could have dinner with five people (alive or dead) who would they be?
  4. What book would you recommend me if I asked you for a recommendation (which I guess I am)?
  5. (And the silly question)  Which sitcom would you like to spend a week of real time in?

Here are some posts of mine that speak to me and I feel quite good about.

  1. The Woman Who Loved Chopin
  2. How Long is 30 Minutes
  3. The Ballerina
  4. You’re Handsome She Said
  5. My first ever blog post (not from this site)

 

 

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in Aspirations, Reflections, Perfection, award, biography, questions and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Awarded

  1. Sarah Warsi says:

    Thank you so much for the nomination again, Anthony! I truly appreciate it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

