From Glass Bottles

ski-day-blue-mountain-003

Often this blog is about that fantastic moment in the day which makes me smile, and helps me maintain a more positive attitude. Often this blog is about weird and quirky characters on my commute that both entertain and confuse me (yes, that means you attractive yet overly divulgent blonde advertising student).  Sometimes this blog is about deeply philosophical issues (the popular how long is thirty minutes blog).  Sometimes this blog is about things that are itching at the back of my mind and need to be scratched (the woman who felt like making salad was a schedule clearing event).  And there are moments when this blog is just about small, almost insignificant things that I find the need to write large.

Today’s Perfect Moment is about the last one–or maybe it is the first one. I’ll let you decide.

Today’s Perfect Moment is a drinking pop out of glass bottles. This is a luxury afforded me because I happen to come across them for a better than average price at a discount store.  Normally I see lots of bottled drinks, but can’t justify paying two dollars for each one, when for two dollars, I can usually get at least two litres–sometimes more.  This one is called black cherry soda.

Maybe it is because of my childhood of 280 ml coke bottles or 350 ml Pop Shop drinks.  Maybe it is because, just like beer, pop tastes better in a glass bottle than it does in a can or plastic bottle.  Oddly enough, when toasting yesterday’s new Canadian with Canadian whiskey, they served the drinks in plastic shot glasses.  Many remarked on the novelty.  I cried a little inside.

I have read that Fish and chips tasted better served in newsprint. I have friends who aver that Chinese food tastes better in takeout boxes than it does from the buffet table.  I have heard people wax poetically about old time movie popcorn makers.

I cannot attest to these things myself, but I if I firmly believe anything, I believe this; beverages taste better in glass containers.

Maybe I am just a romantic.

 

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in Aspirations, Reflections, Perfection, bargain, beverages, delicious, drinks, hydration, luxury, nostalgia, pop and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to From Glass Bottles

  1. bgddyjim says:

    You may very well be a romantic, but soda pop definitely, indisputably, tastes better when it comes in a glass bottle. It also tastes better when pure cane sugar is used. It gives the soda a little more zing.

Leave a Reply

