Drama on the Viva

Lately, I haven’t written many Perfect Moment posts. Yes, there have been some, but there have been other posts (trip preparation for example) which don’t exactly fit the title.  I have to apologize for that, but I can’t promise to do only Perfect Moments when the world is full of so many moments.  Today, for example, I had a surreal moment.

I was sitting on the bus, reading a book about the Kids in the Hall, when a bunch of high school students got on the bus. Since this happens to me every day now, I didn’t really pay attention—though I secretly long for the days when I can be with normal early morning commuters.  I guess I prefer surly coffee addicts to these bright young minds.  I wonder why.

I am getting off track.

One person, perhaps one of them, perhaps not, approached me and asked me for a cigarette. As odd as this is, it didn’t really surprise me.  Though kids in Ontario seems to be able to get their hands on lots of illegal bootleg smokes, they sometimes can’t and owning to strict retail laws, could potentially have problems getting tobacco.  Being a non-smoker and a strong anti-smoker, I couldn’t and wouldn’t help him.  He trundled on and I went back to my book.

A little while later, having noticed him crisscross the bus numerous times, he approached me again. This time he asked for money.  I merely shook my head.  I reward buskers, not people begging on the bus.   He continued to pester other people on the bus. while I got back to reading about the five comedic geniuses of Kids in the Hall.

A short time later, the bus stopped and I notice a bunch of uniformed people at the door. I figured it was the fare monitors and started reaching for my bus pass.  However, it turned out they were police and they were definitely looking for someone.  Though this is not particularly relevant to the story, I have to explain that one of the police officers was absolutely beautiful.  While she was cuffing the beggar, perhaps because I had been staring at her, she started to ask me a question, but was told by her partner that he would do the talking.  I certainly had been willing to talk to her, so it was a bit socially awkward to not respond to her partner.

Apparently, the driver had called the police because the person in question had been exposing himself to people on the bus. I didn’t see any of that, and nobody else responded.  He was wearing his pants below his ass, which seems to be a style these days–if you know how the pants don’t fall down completely, please let me know.  I am totally confused by it.  I can’t in all fairness consider this exposing himself.  He was wearing boxer shorts…

This made the bus about 20 minutes late. Fortunately, I had left plenty of time to get to work.  Unfortunately, the attractive police officer did not want to question me further.  At least I had something to talk about at work.

 

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in Aspirations, Reflections, Perfection, bus, commuting, police, public transportation, Viva, York Region and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Drama on the Viva

  1. I LOVE this!!!! This is totally hilarious 🙂 I think sometimes moments, perfect or not, are really interesting. What an eventful ride !!!

    Also – I think that posting about your trip and prep is part of your life. As readers, we want to hear about it 🙂

  2. Brittany says:

    These bus stories are so great, what a morning.

Leave a Reply

