A Book Pho My Trip

lonely-planet-001

Basically, everywhere I have travelled, I have taken my lonely planet guide with me. When I moved to Japan, I bought one to help me write stuff for my Working Holiday Visa.  I could have bought one a month earlier for 4 dollars, but passed it up because I was running low on funds.  When I finally did buy it, I had less money in my bank account than the day I opened it with money made from a lemonade stand (true story).  Owing to the fact that it was a new edition (I hope), I had to plunk down somewhere near 25 or 30 dollars for it.

Over the years, I bought one for my two European trips, and my trip to Taiwan.  I managed to take one out of the library when we went to the east coast of Canada.  I have also bought a new edition of the Japan guide, and the Tokyo City guide because of my often acknowledge subliminal connection with Japan–yes, I have thought about buying the newest edition.

I can’t always say that the books have helped me. I found the one for Taiwan rather confusing and a little disorganized.  The one for Europe was a beast.  It was a good deal and the maps were helpful, but it was a beast.

I have tried other guidebooks, but they just didn’t really connect with me. Maybe the fact that I first had the idea to go to Vietnam after the Lonely Planet TV show went there, really makes this more of a “full circle” kind of thing.  I have watched that video and its host Justine Shapiro numerous times.  I even turned the thing into a listening exercise for my class.

The book arrived today.  I purchased it through a secondary seller on Amazon.  The price was fantastic but the wait time was…long.  It wouldn’t be too wrong to say I felt like a kid at Christmas.

Just to be clear, this isn’t a review or a sponsored post (though that would be awesome if it were). The thing is, it is a not so subtle indication of how real the trip is to me, and how seriously I want to prepare.  For some people it’s new clothes, (I’ve done that) or a new suitcase (not doing that) or maybe it’s the carefully typed checklist (I am going to have to write a separate post on this one).  For me, undoubtedly, it is getting the guidebook and pouring over the foolonely-planet-004d and culture sections.  I don’t need a book for next week’s commute because I have over 500 pages of guidebook (and bonus pull out map).

I also got my sandals–for some of you, that probably should have been more than one sentence in this post. Sorry.

 

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in Aspirations, Reflections, Perfection, guide book, Japan, Lonely Planet, Tokyo, travel, Vietnam and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Book Pho My Trip

  1. hmunro says:

    The best guidebook in the world is the one YOU like best, Anthony. I’m glad you’ve found your travel “soulmate.” And excellent choice of shoes, too. As I mentioned in a previous post my Keens have never let me down. Happy travels!

Leave a Reply

