Just For Me

journal

Today’s Perfect Moment was buying a nice book to serve as my journal for my upcoming trip. Rather than go to the dollar store and buy a compromise notebook (functional, but not particularly beautiful and probably with a design that didn’t really wow me) I decided to purchase a more expensive, hardbound journal.  I had looked at, and coveted this line of products for quite some time, but could never justify the expense.  However, since the vacation is a departure from money worry ways, I thought the Journal could be so too.  Most of this runs counter to my upbringing where bargain was the name of the game.  Spending money lavishly on something like this would never have flown.

I felt pretty good about this. While I doubted the cost of the journal should really be that high, I was okay with it.  I was more amused by the irony that it was produced in Vietnam, and that is where I would be taking it.

There is something to be said for writing down thoughts and plans before the trip on paper and capturing some of my experiences on the journey in such a tactile fashion. For the past few years, most of these things have been done on the computer in the form of blogs and long winded emails.  The only thing I often write on paper have been my lesson plans and grocery lists.

I had planned to start tonight. Sadly, when talking to someone about my journal, they decided to throw cold water on my Perfect Moment and point out that I should have just got one from the dollar store (as if that hadn’t been drilled into me my whole life).

They didn’t get it. I don’t regret my purchase, but I do regret sharing it with them.

 

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in Aspirations, Reflections, Perfection, books, experiences, journal, plans, shopping, Vietnam and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Just For Me

  1. Amy Reyes says:

    I’m sorry to hear someone cast their negativity onto you about your choice. However, as you likely know, it’s not always about what’s practical. Sometimes you have to invest in the things you truly want. Happiness doesn’t come from objects, but rather that feeling that you decide you are worth the occasional one-off luxury item. And if it’s a journal, all the better. Writing or any other hobby is well worth a little extra cost 🙂

  2. PedalWORKS says:

    Don’t pay attention to them. Do what feels right. I just did the same thing. I purchased a similar hardbound journal for I know not what. But it looks and feels terrific.

  3. It was the perfect purchase. Most of my book was written in tiny journals that I had in my knapsack – and they were all intricate and ornate – to remind me of what was important 🙂 Good for you for buying this!! Safe travels 🙂

Leave a Reply

