A Perfect Moment in Three Parts

keitatsu-and-coffee-018

Today’s Perfect Moment is broken down into three different things. It would be wrong of me to call them equally perfect, so I won’t.  They were different and might require some time to hash out.  Oddly enough, citing them chronologically seems to be the best thing I could do.

one

While it would be incorrect on many levels to say that the winter has been harsh, it certainly seems like it has been harsher than last winter. As a result, I feel like there haven’t been enough sunny days.  Today’s sunny afternoon was definitely a cause for a celebration.  I took a selfie to commemorate it.  Sadly, it was so bright that I couldn’t see the image I was taking and…..well, there is no point in explaining it.  You’ve seen the picture already.  I wonder if I got my good side.

Two

Seconds after bungling those shots I managed to catch a glimpse of a truck driver cruising down the street past my bus stop. He had been stopped at the traffic light so he was less of a blur than you might expect.  He was rather animated inside the cab and perhaps that was what caught my attention.  I soon realized that he was singing and air drumming to whatever song he had playing in the truck.  He was smiling and moving up and down in the seat while manhandling the big rig.  I smiled as well.  I have no idea what he was listening to, but I am sure it had a good beat.

Three

Every Friday some of my students pass their exams and graduate to a new level or some fail their exams and remain in the class. Not everyone has an exam in the same week, so it is a constant inflow and outflow of students.  My pass rates are not the highest in the school, so I often have to deliver sad news and give encouraging consultations to students.  Lately no one has cried.

Today, I got to give “good news” to one of my students. I know she hadn’t been confident before the consultation but I know she was hoping for good news.  When I explained that she would be joining a higher level class, I can say I have never seen a more genuine smile.  Making someone’s day feels pretty good.

 

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in Aspirations, Reflections, Perfection, compliments, driving, ESL, photography, selfies, sun, teaching, weather, winter. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Perfect Moment in Three Parts

  1. The wiser says:

    Well done. Typical family photography. 😏

    • Anthony says:

      I did manage to take one or two hands free ones….but this just seemed so much more typical.
      My sister bought a selfie stick and while this solved the hands in the way problem, it didn’t always make people look at the camera.
      Thanks for commenting.

Leave a Reply

