La Vie En Rose

Let it be known that I was a big fan of the TV show How I Met Your Mother. I waited for many seasons for Ted to meet the mother, felt that the choice of Cristin Milioti was perfect,  and like most of us was quite disappointed in how it ended.

Looking beyond all of that, I have to say that episode 16 of the 9th and final season was one of my favourites. It was the one that told the story of “How Your Mother Met me.”  It was a beautiful way to do the character’s backstory and how it meshed with Ted and the gang.

Earlier today I was watched parts of that episode again on YouTube…because that’s the kind of thing I do when I have a few moments of time to kill. I really enjoyed the ending with the song La Vie En Rose.  Before this episode, I had never heard it in English.  I mean I love Edith Piaf, and Non, Je Ne Regrette Rien” is one a favourite song of mine.

Okay, I am getting a little off track trying to give you the history of Today’s Perfect Moment.

After watching the clip, I looked to the side and saw that YouTube recommended a singer singing the same song and I decided to take a listen. I don’t normally bother with cover versions of songs because I generally love the original and I have no need for a remake.  However, something made me listen and I am better off for it.  I was completely blown away.  It was beautiful, really beautiful. Sometimes  a song just connects with you.  Sometimes a song reaches inside of you and grabs a nerve.

The song is sung by Daniela Andrade, a young Canadian singer, who seems to have already found some celebrity status on YouTube and will be touring this year.  I don’t know a lot about her, except that now I am a fan.

Either way, I felt compelled to share it with you. I hope you enjoy.

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in Aspirations, Reflections, Perfection, music, television, TV and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to La Vie En Rose

  1. Brittany says:

    I love the random suggestions that YouTube offers at times, allows to find hidden gems like this.

Leave a Reply

