A Delicate Reveal of Ghost Blue

blue2

Maybe the colour is in here somewhere….but I don’t think so.

 

Today’s Perfect moment is a moment of colour. In the grey winter that surrounds me and covers everything, there isn’t always room for colour.  It’s there, especially with the sun shining and the temperature way lower than many wish to endure, but most often its effects are muted.

Today I was blown away by colour when a woman entered my bus and sat down a short distance away. Like most in Canada these days, she was swallowed up in her dark (grey…or black…or green…..I really can’t remember) Canada Goose Jacket, eyes peering out of the hood.  Her only tip toward style over comfort were here tartan covered boots, matching scarf and toque (I will never use the word beanie in this context…never!).

There’s a line in a Tragically Hip song that goes something like….”My girl don’t just walk, she unfurls.” Many times, I have seen people emerge from there jackets like that.  Many times, I have witness such an explosive reveal.  This was not one of those times.  this instead was a delicate reveal.

With her hood off and her toque raised I saw a most beautiful colour of eyes. Telling you that her eyes were blue seems so unfair.  It’s like telling you that chocolate is sweet.  I could say ice blue and while that is evocative, it sounds more deadly and wicked than I think is appropriate.  Deep blue, dark blue, iridescent blue and even neon blue don’t really come close.  If I were naming a lipstick after this colour, I would call it Ghost Blue.

For the record, I left the young lady alone and tired to concentrate on my book, futile though it seemed. Other than telling her that she had beautiful eyes–a fact she must have been totally aware of, what could I have said. I certainly didn’t want another situation like my Canadian Tire moment a few weeks ago when I uncontrollably blurted out to a the cashier that she was beautiful the second I saw her.

I spent the rest of the day wondering about the colour blue.

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in Aspirations, Reflections, Perfection, beauty, blue eyes, Canadian Tire, chance meetings, colours, commuting, compliments, positive comments, winter and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Delicate Reveal of Ghost Blue

  1. Joanna Axiak says:

    Fully visual. I enjoyed that post.

  2. Beautifully written post. You have really captured the moment!!!

Leave a Reply

