What I Read in 2016

In 2016, I posted a list of the books I read.  Now that the year is over, I was a little unsure of what to do with that list.  It felt good to delete the list, but at the same time it felt like I was erasing part of my history.

What I decided was to reflect on my reading a bit and put the list here.  Rather than boasting, I just want to be able to look back on it again some day.  I want some record of it.

My favourite books from this list are School of Velocity, The Good Life, The Peripheral, Dirty Love, The Cosmopolitans, Everyone Behaves Badly, and the Sweetest One.  There was some challenging literature here, but not postmodern challenging.

I did most of my reading on the commute and very little of it at home.  While this isn’t that surprising, how very little I read at home is.  I hope the new year isn’t as bad. I could blame television, but mostly I want to blame my work shift.

Rereading The Sun Also Rises was nice.  Of course I did that so I was prepared for Everyone Behave Badly.  Rereading On the Road wasn’t as fulfilling.  That is one of those books that flips back and forth for me.  Probably the next time I read it, I will love it once again.  (The 36 Views of Mt. Fuji is like that also).

I read very little SF this year.  That will probably change now that I am working with a guy who reviews SF novels every week.  Check them out at .http://www.librobros.com/

December was a horrible month for reading.  Again, I changed my work shift, wasn’t commuting as often and sometimes found my self just listening to music rather than read.  I probably could have red a few more books.  In fact, I started one that I have to get read this week because it is due back at the library.

I did take a few more chances with new releases this year despite reading several continuing book series.  I certainly hope this trend will continue.

Except for the previously mentioned Everyone Behaves Badly, very little of the non fiction I read wowed me at all.  The Whipping Boy was a good story (and had a really interesting premise) and the emotional aspect of it was well written.  It’s resolution lacked the Hollywood ending we were all hoping for, though.

I read 12 books written by female authors.  This is nothing to boast about but since I tend to read so few female authors, this was probably a good thing.  That it was an unconscious choice is what makes it much better.

Here is the list for posterity. I don’t know whether I will read more or less in 2017, but I will read something.

  1. Void Moon by Michael Connelly
  2. Bangkok Haunts by John Burdett
  3. Content Rules by Ann Handley & C.C. Chapman
  4. City of Bones by Michael Connelly
  5. The Purity of Vengeance by Jussi Adler-Olsen
  6. Lost Light by Michael Connelly
  7. The Godfather of Kathmandu by John Burdett
  8. Risk Savvy by Gerd Gigerenzer
  9. Imperial Bedrooms by Bret Easton Ellis
  10. Vulture Peak by John Burdett
  11. Lose the Clutter, Lose the Weight by Peter Walsh
  12. Your Heart is a Muscle the Size of a Fist by Sunil Yapa
  13. The Kill Room by Jeffery Deaver
  14. The Bat by Jo Nesbo
  15. The Narrows by Michael Connelly
  16. The Closers by Michael Connelly
  17. The Skin Collector by Jeffery Deaver
  18. Even Dogs in the Wild by Ian Rankin
  19. Get Smart! by Brian Tracy
  20. Paper Towns by John Green
  21. Dark Territory by Fred Kaplan
  22. The Good Life by Jay McInerney
  23. Orange is the New Black by Piper Kerman
  24. Mission Song by John Le Carre
  25. The Invitation Only Zone by Robert S. Boynton
  26. The Peripheral by William Gibson
  27. Illegal Alien by Robert J. Sawyer
  28. Fight Club by Chuck Palahniuk
  29. One True Thing by Anna Quindlen
  30. The God’s Eye View by Barry Eisler
  31. A Farewell To Arms by Ernest Hemmingway
  32. The Bangkok Asset by John Burdett
  33. Bending Adversity by David Pilling
  34. Fireflies by Ben Byrne
  35. Dirty Love by Andre Dubus III
  36. Drawing Dead by Andrew Vachss
  37. The Cosmopolitans by Sarah Schulman
  38. The Manchurian Candidate by Richard Condon
  39. Echo Park by Michael Connelly
  40. The Sun also Rises by Ernest Hemmingway
  41. I Suck at Girls by Justin Halpern
  42. Sh*t My Dad Says by Justin Halpern
  43. Whipping Boy by Allen Kurzweil
  44. Girl, Interrupted by Susanna Kaysen
  45. It’s Hard Not To Hate You by Valerie Frankel
  46. One Kick by Chelsea Cain
  47. Everybody Behaves Badly by Lesley M. M. Blume
  48. The Hanging Club by Tony Parsons
  49. The Secret of Spandau by Peter Lovesey
  50. School of Velocity by Eric Beck Rubin
  51. The Risen by Ron Rash
  52. The Unseen World by Liz Moore
  53. The Sweetest One by Melanie Mah
  54. Carousel Court by Joe McGinniss Jr.
  55. Slow Burn by Ace Atkins (channeling Robert B. Parker)
  56. The World Without Us by Alan Weisman
  57. I Am No One by Patrick Flanery
  58. The Power to Get Things Done by Steve Levinson Cooper and Chris Cooper
  59. Debt to Pay by Reed Farrel Coleman (channeling Robert B. Parker)
  60. Rowdy by Ariel Teal Tombs and Colt Baird Tombs (and ghost writer Craig Pyette)
  61. A Dangerous Age by Kelly Killoren Bensimon
  62. The Dollhouse by Fiona Davis
  63. Ghost Sniper by Scott McEwen
  64. Diamonds are Forever by Ian Fleming
  65. On the Road by Jack Kerouac
  66. Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

 

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in 2016, Aspirations, Reflections, Perfection, books, reading, review. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to What I Read in 2016

  1. Rachel M says:

    Wow! You read a lot!

  2. hmunro says:

    Holy moly, Anthony! You are my bookwormish idol. Hats off to you for making such great use of your commuting time. And happy new year to you, too.

Leave a Reply

