Dissecting The Year That Was

Iwant to write one last piece about 2016; a look back if you will.  My next post will look ahead to what 2017 is all about.  After I write it, I will link it to here.

If I look at the events of 2016 as reported in the news, I would have to conclude that it was a horrible year full of death, disappointment, ugly politics and very little to rally around. If I look at my own life, I see a much different (read better) picture.  Sure there were disappointments, but you get knocked down so you can get right back up again.  Besides, that was last year.

The purpose of this blog is, and has always been, to focus on the positive.  While I might take occasionally forays into the unusual and awesome things that only tangentially touch my life, the goal is always to dwell on the positive.

The things I list as positive

  • I got to see Toronto from a boat and the view was incredible.  It served as a reminder that a change of perspective can really be eye opening–and not just for the cityscape.
  • I read some good books which transformed a mundane commute into a fantastic world of drama, intrigue, humour and irony. Laughing out loud on a bus full of disgruntled commuters may not be everyone’s cup of tea, but I get a kick out of it.
  • I may not have ridden as much as I would have liked, I liked every day I was out on my bike. Because of this I have decided to take a cycling vacation in the very near future to get out of the cold that seems to be strongly hitting where I live.  I haven’t travelled on vacation in about five years, so this seems right.
  • I tried new foods and new restaurants this year and enjoyed my experiences in all of them. It is a different kind of bravery but you’d be surprised how often people opt for the same old thing rather than shoot for something new and different.
  • I found myself doing more social things than I usually do. That this involved beer drinking and talking about nothing only played to my strengths.  If only these things hadn’t involved late bus rides and long distance walks.
  • I had a brief romance.
  • I got to share a meal with two friends who I thought were lost to history, but suddenly appeared on my radar again.  It was awesome to catch up with them and their now very adult lives.
  • I blogged a lot and wrote a few pieces which I am proud of, and a whole bunch more I am satisfied with. I doubt I will ever become a daily blogger, but I definitely feel my dream of being a writer is much closer.
  • I went camping for the first time in decades and seemed able to acclimate myself to the outdoors well enough. More importantly, it brought back those university days when camping was the only vacation any of us could do and were happy doing it.  Maybe next time we can try Glamping.
  • I drove to the east coast of Canada.  The landscape is so beautiful and once you get east of Montreal, there just aren’t that many cars travelling on the road with you.  It sounds kind of lonely, but is has some beauty too.
  • I spent time with friends and family.

 

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in 2016, appreciation, Aspirations, Reflections, Perfection, beauty, beer, bicycles, happiness, Happy New Year, retro, retrospective, writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Dissecting The Year That Was

  1. I wonder where you will go on your bike vacation!! How exciting 🙂

  2. Pingback: The Year that Will Be | Today's Perfect Moment

Leave a Reply

