The Right Way to Eat a Kit Kat?

christmas-beer-001

I don’t know if it is because of the people I work with or the fact that they are ESL teachers, but we can find ourselves in a whole bunch of debates. The topics of these debates range from the validity of the Oxford comma to WKRP in Cincinnati trivia to the proper way to peel a banana to our most recent debate about skipping ahead on the advent calendar to get to the later chocolate.  Not only are the opinions and logic quite varied but the articulate nature in which they are argued is incredible.

I would be lying if I said I didn’t enjoy some of these debates. They are entertaining and at times completely mystifying.  I had no time to ask this one to my coworkers before the break, so I decided to appeal to all of you.  The actions of one of my students (pictured above) presents (to me at least) a very big question.

Is there a right way to eat a kit kat bar?

As you can see, he bit across all four rows–which would be the typical way to eat a chocolate bar, but a not particularly traditional way of eating a four piece kit kat. This student in question is from Japan.  I only provide this information so you know that he has indeed seen a kit kat before.  Kit kat’s have been in Japan for a long time.  Currently they are the go to country for interesting (read that as both good and bad) flavours.  Perhaps he is more accustomed to eating two piece kit kats, as I could imagine chomping into both pieces at once in that case.  However, four piece kit kats are just as common as two piece kit kats.

So, is there a right way to eat a four piece kit kat bar?

For most things, I am pretty flexible. If you want to eat your pizza crust first, go right ahead.  If you want to roll your toilet paper roll backwards, go right ahead.  If you want to eat your dessert before your main meal, go right ahead.  If you want to drink the wine that is the opposite to “the best pairing” for what you’re eating, go right ahead (actually I prefer this–though I seldom drink wine of any kind).

However, I think I have to draw a line here. This is definitely the wrong way to eat a kit kat–unless you live or work with people who always take/steal/beg for  one of those four pieces.  Then this works perfectly.

 

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in Aspirations, Reflections, Perfection, good manners, Japan, Japanese, kit kat, proper and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Right Way to Eat a Kit Kat?

  1. You MUST break the four pieces apart and eat each one separately!!!! Now, where did I learn that? I don’t know!! But I DO know that is how I think it should be done – I guess cause that’s how I grew up doing it 🙂

  2. hmunro says:

    I don’t usually impose my manners on others, but here I’ve got to agree with you and Ms. Girl and a Bike: KitKats are to be snapped apart, and each section eaten separately. It’s the law. 🙂

  3. wiser says:

    Definitely the wrong way to eat a KitKat bar.

  4. Pingback: I’m Going to Make You Mad Teacher | Today's Perfect Moment

Leave a Reply

