Irony on Christmas Eve

christmas-beer-016

I have been pretty lax in posting this past week. Actually, lax is far too generous a word.  Rather, I have been pretty negligent.  As a result, you will probably get a smattering of posts from me reflecting on this past week, pre and post Christmas.

As for Christmas Eve, I am reflecting on Christmas eve of my childhood. I remember leaving milk and cookies for Santa.  One year (maybe more than one) after returning from midnight mass and planning on going to sleep (though my excitement would keep me up for hours) we were getting the milk and cookies together when my Mom suggested leaving Santa a beer.

I don’t know if we ever did that, or if in fact that “joke” was used more than once. All I know is that this memory got me thinking about having a beer.  I opted to have one of my all time favourites–because it is the festive season and also because I will treat myself to the things I want from this day henceforth (see Christmas is infecting me more than I realize….or is it Dickens?

As for this lovely specimen from Unibroue, it is delicious. As for the name, no, the irony is not lost on me.

 

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in Aspirations, Reflections, Perfection, beer, beverages, Christmas and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Irony on Christmas Eve

  1. I Love Blanche de Chamblay – same brewery as the one you posted 🙂 Hope it was good!

    • Anthony says:

      I love Blanche De Chamblay as well–I drank that on the night that inspired “the Woman who loved Chopin.”
      Fin Du Monde is also very delicious…but with quite a high alcohol content (about 9 percent). It is fruity and full bodied.

Leave a Reply

