A Tale of Two Cities

snow-and-chocolate-029

When I went to bed on Sunday night, I did something I never do. I checked the weather forecast.  It said the weather in Toronto was going to be 5 degrees.  That’s pretty warm.  It also struck me as a little weird because the snow had started to fall a few hours before and their seemed to be indications of accumulations (also a good title for this post).

 

If this had been my students, they would have checked their phones and gone to bed dreaming of a late fall day–their belief in their phones ability to predict weather in Canada is rock solid, despite indications that the accuracy of a weather forecast in Ontario is pretty sketchy after four or five hours.

I digress.

I went to sleep with visions of powdery covered ski slopes and awoke to pretty much that vision playing itself out on my front lawn. Things appeared white and fluffy and I prepared for a crunchy walk to the bus stop.

The radio, emanating from Toronto, failed to mention snow and used the word rain several times.  Since they were not forecasting the weather and merely reporting it, I took their word for it and opted not to slap on my boots.  I also didn’t have room in my bag for shoes, so perhaps the option had been made for me.

As you can see from the contrasting photos. There was quite a difference between where I started my commute and where I finished my commute.  I walked through ankle high snow and lovely morning snowfall, only to arrive at a wet but decidedly snow free destination.

snow-and-chocolate-039

From a writing perspective, or artistic perspective, I would call that juxtaposition. I wonder just how juxtaposed I am going to feel this winter.

That’s okay. It isn’t like winter has actually started yet.

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in Aspirations, Reflections, Perfection, autumn, beauty, bus, commuting, snow, subway, weather, winter and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Tale of Two Cities

  1. I love a nice ‘crunchy’ walk in the snow 🙂 Beautiful photos!

Leave a Reply

