Snow Underfoot

snow-and-jessica-jones-001

It was eerily quiet as I left the house this early morning, leaving me all to aware of the sound of the snow crunching underfoot. The ground was covered in a thin layer of white, reflecting the street lamps and store signs, though not making it any brighter.

I knew taking the bus would be better than the drive and the anxiety of the first snow day. Let someone else do the driving and be distracted by my latest library find seemed like a good idea.  The bus would warm, maybe too warm.  The seats would seem more crowded with my fellow commuters’ bulky jackets taking up space.

I surveyed the scene once again. The gusts had blown some of the snow away from the sidewalks, leaving a windblown Rorschach test for those who were not preoccupied with their phones or their music.  Some ideas came to mind but had to be abandoned as the bus was coming and I was a few metres short of my goal.

snow-and-jessica-jones-004

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in Aspirations, Reflections, Perfection, bus, commuting, literature, public transportation, seasons, snow, weather, writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Snow Underfoot

  1. Lovely 🙂 I am absolutely delighted by your perspective on life…. 🙂

Leave a Reply

