The Weekend’s Perfect Moments

 

schmauder-weekend-009

The Trivia

First and foremost, I have to apologize to anyone coming to this blog thinking that they were going to get “today’s” Perfect Moment. Since I haven’t had time to write since Thursday, I had to make some choices.  I could either write about each day, hoping I could remember the moments that made me smile, or I could wrap this up with the nice title of “the weekend’s Perfect Moments”.  While either solution works for me, I have opted to go for the latter.

The Plan and the Drive

Friday I left work after a positive evaluation on my observed class. For the next several hours, despite being on a high, everything went downhill….or in light of what happened that probably isn’t such a nice thing to say.

I left work and headed towards St. Catherines and my best friend Chris’ place. He had enlisted my help on his team for a charity trivia night.  I have a lot of trivia knowledge, though to be fair, most of it is personal trivia.  What I mean by that is when we get together I can remember a lot of the things that happened to us with remarkable clarity.  How that was supposed to help in the trivia night is anyone’s guess.  In truth, I think my friend just wanted to share a few drinks with me.  The feeling was mutual.

On my drive, just as I passed a critical exit point, I heard on the radio that the Burlington Skyway was closed. There had been an accident on the Niagara bound route and things were brought to a standstill.  I managed to keep my cool, but I regret not having my phone set up for hands free dialling on my car.

When the accident finally cleared, the traffic opened up and I was able to make good time. Of course, I was much later than anticipated.

Trivia Night

After collection myself, and having a drink with my friend, we headed out to Trivia night. The weather was warm and we were walking as we planned to have some drinks at the trivia night–it was a charity event and I wanted to do my part.

My spirits were buoyed a little when my friend mentioned there would be one single woman on our team. Since most of the things I get invited to are usually stacked with couples, I felt like this was at least better than usual.

I wish I could say we mopped up the trivia night, but alas no. My knowledge of TV shows, wrestling, science fiction, literature, comic books, obscure sports and all things Japanese didn’t really help.  I did manage to help the team with some questions, but not nearly enough to put us in contention.  Fortunately, my friend’s team were not ultra competitive and were just out for the fun.  It was a pretty good night after all.

Jessica Jones

krysten

So, I am one of those people who doesn’t have Netflix. I just haven’t gotten around to it.  My friend Chris loves movies and we usually find ourselves at the movie theatre or planted in front of his TV watching Netflix.  The last few times,  he has shown me episodes of Jessica Jones.  I thought that the program was so good that it might finally prompt me to get Netflix.  Sadly, lots of teaching hours in the summer meant that I just didn’t have time to watch anything.

This weekend, we made a conscious choice to finally watch the whole series. I thought it was excellent and Krysten Ritter and David Tennant were amazing.   It was a pretty dark and disturbed series…but wow.

Additionally, Chris was kind enough to lend me the Jessica Jones comic books. It should make for some good reading.

Outside

schmauder weekend 023.jpg

Lest you think we spent all our time indoors nursing hangovers, we managed to get outside and play with his dog. As the pictures will attest, there are few things better than a fast dog who loves to chase a ball over vast distances.  Thank god that they invented the chuck it.

The weather was warm and there were some nice trees in the park.

The Weekend Menu

So, those who have read this blog before know about my love of pizza and burritos. Though I didn’t plan it, those exact foods featured in my dinners.  We had pizza on Friday and burritos on Saturday.  My stomach was as happy as I was.

Dr. Strange

Seeing as we had time, we decided to go see Dr. Strange. It was a visually interesting movie and fits nicely into the Marvel Universe.  We watched it in 3D, so there were a few moments that were a bit trippy and a few moments that were hard to follow. My only concern is that Benedict Cumberbatch sounded an awful lot like Tom Selleck.  Maybe that was who his voice coach was.

A funny thing, odd really…..the movie theatre didn’t put down the house lights when they were showing the previews. I can’t say as I appreciated that very much.

The Moral of the Story

Weekends with friends are awesome. You probably already knew that, didn’t you.

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in Aspirations, Reflections, Perfection, beer, friends, friendship, knowledge, movies, netflix and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

