My Friend Procrastination

procrastination.png

Procrastination is a powerful thing. Why is it I would rather watch old YouTube videos than do something I have to do?  Why is it that I would rather think about what order I was going to eat the “leftover” Halloween candy rather than complete the task at hand?  Procrastination is powerful.  Powerful with a capital P.

The ironic thing (if you want to call it that rather than “sad thing”) is that I just finished reading a book that was all about beating procrastination. I read the book in nothing flat and found myself agreeing with a lot of it.  The problem is that when push came to shove, I still fritted away lots of time.

Thankfully that task is now done.  What a sense of relief.

Unfortunately, that just means another task has moved up in the queue. That task is an observed lesson tomorrow.  I should be working on that….but instead I decided to blog about procrastination……..so in effect, I am procrastinating again.

 

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in adversity, advice, ambition, Aspirations, Reflections, Perfection, disappointment, hard work, procrastination, tasks, teaching, work and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to My Friend Procrastination

  1. hmunro says:

    I could offer an accredited online course in procrastination, Anthony! But at least you have a blog post to show for *your* procrastination, instead of a bunch of dubious eBay purchases, LOL.

  2. Ha Ha Haaaa!!! What a great sense of humour you have 🙂 But I totally understand. There are some things I LOVE to do, and others that I just can’t get myself to do it!!! It is probably a reflection of how much you actually enjoy the task 🙂

Leave a Reply

