Today’s Perfect Mantra

What is that old expression about a thousand monkeys typing at a thousand typewriters….they would eventually produce every single one of Shakespeare’s sonnets? I understand that the point is that something that could happen, statistically, probably, will eventually happen. I get it.

Today was one of those days.

180 005.jpg

While randomly throwing darts in my basement while watching Alabama play football, I did something that I really didn’t think would happen.  I hit a 180.  (insert long callout by darts announcer here “one hundred and eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiighty!”)  I have seen some people at the Legion do it, even one of my teammates.  I had hoped it would happen, but figured it was a few years off.

Sadly it was in my basement with only my camera to record it, but still. I feel pretty pumped about it.  And  rather than downplay the whole thing, as I often sometimes do,  I am going to revel in it.  I know I did it.  I now know I can do it.  I also know something else that is important (important enough to put bold text on it and put it in the centre of this blog).

If I did it once, I can do it again.

If I did it once, I can do it again.

We’re calling that Today’s Perfect Mantra. I may have to get t-shirts made.

 

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in 180, achievement, ambition, Aspirations, Reflections, Perfection, darts, Perfection and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Today’s Perfect Mantra

  1. hmunro says:

    As someone who can’t even hit the board half the time, I bow in humble admiration of your achievement. GOOD FOR YOU!

    Now … as for those monkeys typing away, I have one question: Who is going to clean all of those typewriters after the experiment is over? Ha ha.

  2. Brittany says:

    WAHOOOO!!! Awesome job, and this mantra is perfect!

Leave a Reply

