Fog, Philosophers and Fall

I did not consciously think of the alliterative title, but it certainly fits the disparate parts of my day….that now I wonder if they are indeed disparate at all.

Fog

When I left work, the whole area was encased in an eerie fog. It was mid afternoon and the world looked so different than usual.  It reminded me of a movie, but not the main movie.  It was more like the flashback scene that isn’t in black and white but is somewhat devoid of colour.  The sounds are cacophonous, but blend together in one messy symphony.  You walk through it without even seeing it.  You experience it but find it hard to recall in any detail.  Its greyness is etched upon you, but your mind is telling you just to let it go.

Philosophers

I have said it before, but it bears repeating. If I ever get into conversation with complete strangers, it is usually because of books.  Either I ask what they are reading or they ask me.  Today was slightly different.   On the bus platform, an employee of the company, and I cannot say in what capacity the man is employed, was staring hard at the book I am currently reading; The World Without Us.

I assumed he was interested and recommended the book. He said that he didn’t need to read anymore because he was “connected”.  In terms that I could better understand, I guess I would characterize it as “enlightened”.  He said that once you are connected you don’t need to read and that all the answers would present themselves.  He said that people are “too materialistic and need to know themselves” .  I can’t say that he is wrong and I listened with intent, rather than speak too much.

He went on to relate an experience he had in Japan the year I was born.  It was an interesting tale of philosophers and atheists and impromptu speeches and quiet meditations.

Sadly, my bus came and I was in danger of having to stand for the entire trip. I took my leave, but I wonder how long his words will echo in my ears.

Fall

Here is a glimpse of some of the colours adorning my neighbourhood. They make a nice contrast to the eerie fog that has only now lifted.

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in Aspirations, Reflections, Perfection, Aurora, authentic, autumn, beauty, bus, commuting, constructions, philosophy, public transportation, seasons, Toronto, transportation, weather. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

