Holding Onto Summer

In the past two days I have had a couple of wonder spottings….sightings.  I am sure one of those words is the correct one. (Microsoft Word is telling me it is the second one…..but somehow I like the first one better)

ice-cream-truck

The first happened just before noon while I was pondering what to have for lunch. I spotted an ice cream truck making rounds of the business district near Yonge and Eglinton.  It struck me as odd because I don’t ever remember stopping at an ice cream truck in October.  As a child by the first week of October most parents had put their children on a “wait until Halloween” diet.  We didn’t get to make trips to the ice cream truck.  We had to figure a way of getting some of the Halloween candy before the actual day.

To be fair, Tuesday was a pretty nice day, though it started out cold in the morning. Maybe the ice cream truck owner was hoping for one last payday before autumn really took hold and the hot chocolate makers breathe a sigh of relief.

bike-009

The other interesting find was this motorcycle with sidecar parked along the street as I was walking home. Had I not had to get home, I might have waited for the driver and begged for a ride in the sidecar.  It just seemed that cool to me.  It just seemed like we were holding onto summer.

Yeah. I guess we are.

 

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in adventure, appreciation, Aspirations, Reflections, Perfection, authentic, autumn, beauty, breathtaking, epiphany, missed opportunity, randomness, seasons and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

