When Breakfast Fails to Deliver

A student of mine once told me that the secret to maintaining a good weight was in this simple maxim.

  • Eat breakfast like a king.
  • Eat lunch like a prince.
  • Eat supper like a poor person.

I have to admit that I see the logic in this idea. Eating less before going to bed is probably a good idea.  Eating a lot for breakfast just reminds me of Christmas Day.

Today I managed some coffee and a bowl of Vector Cereal with a banana thrown in.

Having all this in mind really didn’t prepare me for my students breakfast choices this morning. I have to share a few photographs to get the idea across.

breakfast 002.jpg

The sandwich and the grapes and cheese seem…relatively benign.  I just wasn’t sure about the Pringles.

 

I couldn’t decided if this was an inspired choice, spoke of some kind of weird addiction, or just didn’t meet with my idea of breakfast.

Sadly, this student was not to be outdone.

breakfast-003

Yeah.  Cigarettes and an Ice Cap.

Again, inspired choice or complete lunacy.

I would love to know what most of you have for breakfast.  Please reply in the comment section below.  I know there are quite a few healthy people who follow my blog and I really want to hear what get their hearts pumping in the morning.

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in Aspirations, Reflections, Perfection, breakfast, cigarettes, diet, food, ice cap, smoking, Tim Hortons, weight loss and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to When Breakfast Fails to Deliver

  1. bgddyjim says:

    I eat a banana and an apple. If i’m trying to drop weight, I skip it altogether. Because it doesn’t matter when I pig out or cut calories…

  2. Joanna Axiak says:

    I absolutely love breakfast! It’s probably the only meal where I don’the feel guilty for eating a lot. This morning I had a small plain omelette, a piece of toasted baguette with cheese, lots of cut up pieces of raw carrots (Yes carrots! They are so sweet in Morocco), the rest of the plum that my four-year-old didn’t finish, vanilla yogurt, and a cup of black tea. This IS typical breakfast fare for me. We lunch around 1p.m. and eat a hot meal like at dinner time in Canada, and then dinner is light: maybe some soup or nuts with tea or a beer, glass of wine or nothing at all. That is likey why I am ravenous at breakfast!

  3. I need my breakfast!!! On a lower activity day, I love a warm porridge style cereal with banana, fresh strawberries, almond milk, honey and nuts. On a high activity day, or if I have had a few active days in a row, I love my eggs!!! One of my favourite is a simple one egg w/ melted cheese breakfast sandwich. If you want to get healthy – add in some sautéed greens. On a super light or ‘need to clean day’ – I like probiotic yogurt with fruit, nuts and honey 🙂

    • Anthony says:

      Now after the last two comments I am going to have to rethink my breakfast. Perhaps if I wasn’t just struggling out of bed I could manage something more.
      I also have to admit a fondness for kid’s (aka unhealthy) cereals.
      Weekends are better….but then my coffee dosage also increases.
      Thanks for sharing your breakfast ideas.

      • Tee hee 🙂 I totally understand! The breakfast sandwich is super fast to make if you have all the stuff at hand. And, I make a big batch of oatmeal so it is just reheat and eat 🙂 If time is really tight, even just a banana and individual greek yogurt is good. But I hear you – mornings can be tough !!

  4. Sarah Warsi says:

    I am bad and don’t usually eat any breakfast at all. I don’t make the time for it and usually pay for it afterwards. The most I consume in the morning is a coffee and a granola bar which is bad, I know. But lately, I have been trying to curb that by at least having waffles and orange juice or something more tangible. It makes a huge difference and actually quenches my desires to have a coffee most of the time!

  5. Amy Reese says:

    I sometimes manage a yogurt at my desk! That’s a great maxim to live by.

Leave a Reply

