Epiphany on a T-shirt

do-it

The only problem with taking books out of the library is that you’ve got to read them before somebody else wants them. My books were coming due and I had two more to read.  I tried renewing them, but one book had a hold on it.

So, I trundled off to the library to return my books and search for some others. As it was a glorious day, perhaps the last one of summer, I decided to walk to the library.  I didn’t even bother to plug in some music.  I wanted those last sounds of summer.

I took a chance on a bunch of authors I had never read and headed back home.

Out there on the street, on a rather linear route home, the Perfect Moment happened. As I was passing under a covered sidewalk section in front of some construction, my eyes temporarily shaded from the sun, I cam upon a child with a T-shirt full of epiphany.

Don’t Just Dream It

Do It!

james-joyce

Maybe I am just too obsessed with epiphanies. Maybe it’s all those times I read Portrait of the Artist As a Young Man.  I think James Joyce would agree with me.  Epiphanies are out there, and a lot had to line up to put me in front of that t-shirt.  A few metres earlier or later, I would have been squinting and maybe not seen the sign.

Either way, I think that the message is a pretty clear.

 

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in Aspirations, Reflections, Perfection, epiphany, James Joyce, librarian, library and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Epiphany on a T-shirt

  1. Anonymous says:

    I am a sucker for ‘life quotes’ as well….but sometimes you simply get the right message at the right time 😉

Leave a Reply

