Thanks for the Thanks

thank-you-cards-003

Today’s Perfect Moment is in recognition of my students. After seeing my haul of Swiss Chocolate and other goodies, it might be obvious to you, but I sometimes forget that my students can be rather appreciative of my teaching efforts.

I certainly enjoy the foodstuffs they share with me (especially the chocolate and occasional bottle of real tequila) and I express my thanks personally. However, from time to time, I would like to do it more publicly.

A little background first.

Anyone who knows me will tell you that I am not really a card person. On my birthday, I would rather you not bought me a card from the expensive card store.  Getting one from the dollar store is certainly better.  Best of all would be putting that dollar towards my gift or buying yourself a drink.  I appreciate the card, but I am not going to hold onto it forever.

In the past couple of weeks, I received a number of thank you cards from students. What makes this better is that I know the composing of the message in English was more challenging than when I send Christmas cards.  It takes me very little time to scratch out a Merry Christmas or Happy Holiday message, complete with flowery adjectives and wordy wishes for the future.  For my students, they have to work pretty hard to express themselves and sum up the time we have spent together.

Much appreciated

 

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in appreciation, Aspirations, Reflections, Perfection, dollar store, greeting cards, students, thanks and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Thanks for the Thanks

  1. This post hit a personal note! I’ve been that person trying to write in Japanese and kanji no less! — sincere and heartfelt notes of gratitude to natives during my life in Japan. (not fluent in the language written or spoken.) It was very hard work, especially for a natural wordsmith. All I could do is hope that recipients could see through any funky writing to the heartfelt gratitude and efforts in any clumsy composition. I’ve also been on the receiving side of “funky English” and definitely do recognize effort about results so I get your post!

Leave a Reply

