In Need of Recommendations

books

Last Thursday I wandered around the library, somewhat aimlessly.  I was there to pick up a book I put on hold and I am now reading titled “Everyone Behaves Badly”.  Every other book I had intended to pick up was either checked out or non-existent.

I checked with the librarians, as they have often recommended some fantastic books in the past.  However, they were very non-committal this time.  Perhaps they hadn’t read anything good lately.  Perhaps they were tired of me.

I ended up grabbing a bunch of books for the next couple of weeks, some at random, some because their pictures or titles struck me as cool.  I even read a few of the blurbs at the back–though the placement of the library bar code foiled this on  a few occasions.

As wonderful as that was, it took time away from my dinner and a dozen other things I could be doing.  Also, I might add, it was fraught with danger.  I might have picked up a bunch of duds.  While I hate quitting books midway through, I am getting better at cutting my losses these days.

So, I am asking you readers and WP followers for some recommendations.  You can see what I have been reading this year by clicking the tab at the top of this page if that will help you.  You can also recommend your favourite book of all time or your current favourite.  Don’t worry about stretching my boundaries, I will be making my own decisions.  And don’t worry, I won’t hold you responsible for bad choices….though I have every right to.

 

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in Aspirations, Reflections, Perfection, books, help, librarian, library, recommendations and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to In Need of Recommendations

  1. Lorien Legacies series by Pittacus Lore
    The River Singers by Tom Moorehouse
    Hope you’ll like it 🙂

  2. Catherine says:

    Read Redeployed by Phil Klay.

  3. Gemma says:

    I’ve got a few book reviews on my blog you might like to look at! Looking forward to seeing more of your blog, hope you’ll check out/follow mine https://myhappycornerblog.wordpress.com 🙂

  4. My genre’s suspense/crime. May not suit you. However, as a writer who recognizes and appreciates excellent writing (likewise, rolls her eyes at crap writing too often celebrated as quality by the none-too-bright public), I go to Karin Slaughter, Greg Horowitz and Lee Child. Each different, each uniquely gifted and powerful in their craft as storytellers.

    • Anthony says:

      Thanks for the recommendations. I have read quite a few Lee Child books (and still not sure why they cast Tom Cruise…..). The others I will check out. Thanks.

      • Tom Cruise was an atrocious selection! Apart from being a terrible actor anyhow, nothing about him even remotely resembles Jack Reacher — in this universe or any other! Pitiful casting. That casting director should be fired!

      • Anthony says:

        I pressed “like” for this comment, but I would have pressed “loved” for this comment if there had been such a button.

  5. {pressed post too fast} … that should read “…and powerful in his/her craft as storytellers.”

  6. Illian Rain says:

    I’m currently reading The Goldfinch (yeah, I’m finally getting to it several years after everyone else has moved on), and it’s a great yarn. I also just finished a James Ellroy re-read marathon. Sometimes you just gotta go hardboiled… 🙂

    • Anthony says:

      Thanks so much. As for reading the “hot” book after everyone is done….nothing wrong with that. It is usually the case with me because the wait times at the library can be so long.
      I will definitely check out your recommendations.

  7. Anonymous says:

    I keep track of what I read on Goodreads. This way, I can see what my other friends are reading and what they liked. They can also see what I liked. If you are interested – I am on there as Julie Hiner 🙂

Leave a Reply

