Reflections on a Camping Trip Part One

There is a lot of joy to be gotten from simple things. In my case it was a game of catch between myself and  my best friends.

As I write this, I am reminded about the line from “Stand By Me” (the movie). It laments the fact that we don’t have the kind of friends we had in childhood.  Luckily for me, I have had these friends since before any of us could drive.

Guys Camping 2016 009

We had the option of going for a swim, tossing the football around, or even playing Frisbee–though I doubt any of us has a good Wham o Frisbee anymore–and any promo Frisbee adorned with the logo of something like a beer label will just not do. Yes, call me a purist, but that is where I stand on the whole thing.

It was good to throw the ball around, though it was much harder to field the bouncers than it used to be. Maybe the thought of getting my body behind the ball is something I would rather leave to the paid professionals.  Fortunately, the arm felt good and the catching wasn’t too bad.Guys Camping 2016 054

Either way, a game of catch is good because you can still talk. It also takes you back to your childhood, when a game of catch was a significant as anything else–or at least as significant of riding your bike all over the place.

My glove is pretty old. If anyone knows the make or age of it, I would appreciate you sharing your knowledge.  And yes, we picked up some corn from a roadside stand.

 

About Anthony

I am: equal parts rebel, romantic and shockingly average Joe. a writer trapped inside of an ESL teacher's body. an introverted attention seeker. a teacher who hopes one day to be called "Captain, my Captain." an intellectual who can do some very dumb things. a person whose Japan experience, despite being so long ago, still exerts a strong influence upon him. a lover of books, music, beer, hockey and Pizza.
This entry was posted in Aspirations, Reflections, Perfection, baseball gloves, beer, camping, friends, friendship, Frisbee and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Reflections on a Camping Trip Part One

  1. The wiser says:

    What no 500 up? I would say a Rawlings and roughly 32 years old.

  2. bgddyjim says:

    Damn, brother… that’s one beat up glove! You need an aerobie pro flying ring. Makes Frisbee tossing twice the fun. I copied the link and was going to paste it… but it’s ridiculously long.

    • Anthony says:

      I’ll go take a look–thanks for the recommendation.

    • Anthony says:

      Also, the glove was like that when I got it. Talk about “broken in”.

      • bgddyjim says:

        No judgements. I didn’t mean it that way if that’s how you read it. I’m a baseball glove afficianado, I’d hoped to be able to help you identify it. I could not.

      • Anthony says:

        I wasn’t offended. I was just giving some clarification. You might be right about the maker and only off by a short time.
        My dad found the glove after everyone left a ball tournament. We always assumed that it was really old, but the plastic thumb guard derailed that idea.
        I’m okay that you call it beat up–though I only had to replace one lace. I think of it as well worked in. It has a great pocket.

  3. Brittany says:

    Camping is good for the soul, throwing a ball around is good for the body. I’m terrible at catch though.

  4. Sounds like it is was truly a wonderful time!!!

Leave a Reply

